Happy Birthday, Grandma

Today would have been my mother-in-law’s 72nd birthday.  We lost her last year just before Christmas after a seven-year battle with a rare form of cancer called thymoma

Grandma with Papa Thanksgiving 2009

My mother-in-law loved babies. She raised three children, then adopted two of her grandchildren when she was in her mid-forties.  Her home was a place of love and acceptance. She took care of countless neighborhood children, and provided childcare for many others.

My mother-in-law played a very important role in my childrens’ life, especially that of Bumblebee.  She was the priority care provider for Bumblebee from birth until she was eighteen months old.  Even as her cancer ravished her body, she insisted on providing care for Bumblebee while the adoption dragged on and I worked.  I think having the baby around lifted her spirits and gave her a reason to live.

A picture of Grandma and Papa is hanging in my girls’ bedroom. I talk to my girls about her every day.  I want them to remember her from the stories I tell them. 

Happy Birthday Grandma, we love you.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Adoption, Coping with change, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Birthday, Grandma

  1. tricia says:

    Mary,
    What a wonderful lady she must have been. I love that you love her so much. I feel the same way about my MIL. I always say….If I can do half as good as she did bringing up her boys I will feel blessed.
    Have a very Merry Christmas with your girls and your guy.
    I will try to send some snow your way okay?
    your friend,
    Tricia
    ps. Rick looks like his daddy. What good looking men!

  2. Bridget says:

    What a blessing to have had the opportunity to be with someone so wonderful and loving!

  3. Tracie says:

    Happy Birthday Mary! She was truly amazing!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Happy Birthday to Mary. I am glad I had the chance to meet her. I am sure she is happy now watching from above.

  5. What a sweet tribute. She sounds like an amazing woman. Our loss is heaven’s gain.

  6. Bozena says:

    Very special!

  7. Sharon O says:

    What a wonderful picture and reminder for you all. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

