Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger

Here we are in week eleven of the 12 Cookies of Christmas, and I decided to try a cookie that reminded me of the days I was stationed Germany with the Army. If you have never been to the Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt, it is truly a magical place, and has been a model for Christmas markets all around the world. 

My Mom’s Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook describes the cookies  as “Round, light-colored honey cakes from the famed City of Toys”

The Nurnberger

Stir the following together: 1 cup honey, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1 egg, 1 tbsp. lemon juice 

Sift together and stir in: 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1/2 tsp. allspice, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg.

Chill dough overnight. Roll small amount at a time, keeping rest chilled.  Roll out 1/4″ thick. Cut into 2″ rounds. Place on greased baking sheet. Press in blanched almond halves around the edge like flower petals of a daisy. Bake at 400 degree F oven for 8 minutes or just until set. Immediately brush with Glazing Icing (recipe below). Remove from baking sheet. Cool, and store in an airtight container for a few days to mellow.

Glazing Icing

Boil together 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water until the first indication of a thread appears (230 degree F). Remove from heat. Stir in 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar and brush hot icing thinly over the cookies.

Please note these were not the easiest cookies to make nor did the children like them.  “Mommy, they are too spicy” were the comments from my two girls.

As for our taste testing, here are the updated rankings:

First Place: Chocolate Chip Bars

Second Place: Chocolate Spritz (see a trend here?)

Third Place: Thumbprint Cookies

Fourth Place: Russian Tea Cakes

Fifth Place: Peanut Butter Cookies (this would be ranked higher, but two of the children do not like peanut butter)

Sixth Place: Decorated & Iced Butter Cookies

Seventh Place: Finska Kakor (Finnish Almond Cookies)

Eighth Place: Pumpkin Cut-Outs

Ninth Place: Gingerbread Men, but these were my favorite!

Tenth Place: Scotch Shortbreads, but a favorite with the over 10 crowd.  Great with coffee!

Eleventh Place: Nurnberger, too spicy, Mommy!

Please hop on over to my friend, Bridget’s site, the Ivey League where she is hosting the 12 Crafts of Christmas.  This week she is featuring edible goodies. Yum, yum!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger

  1. Ooooh! I love, love, love the Christkindlesmarkt! I do miss Germany.

    I’m not surprised those cookies were not a hit with the little ones. They sound yummy to me, though!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Yummy!!!! Especially with some Gluhwein!!! I remember the Nurberger Markt! So fun!!! I love the smell of the Gluhwein, Nurberger Bratwurt, and hot nuts in the cold air!! Maybe we can do it together again someday!!

  3. Pingback: Cookies of Christmas: Toffee-Nut Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

