7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 23

1. One year ago today, my mother-in-law died.  In many ways, it actually seems more than one year since our lives have changed so much. I remember getting the call at work, sitting at my desk, and sobbing uncontrollably.  I could not believe she was gone, and I loved her dearly. I thank the ladies who I worked with for coming to my aid, and for driving me to my in-laws’ house so I could be there with my husband and father-in-law.  My mother-in-law’s death really made me take a hard look at my life, and how I needed to focus on what is important. 

2. On a lighter note, last Friday evening we went on a “Bethlehem Walk”, …we registered our family with the census taker at the city gate of Bethlehem, paid our taxes, visited merchants in their shops, gossiped with women at the well about a star, and even had  bad encounter with Roman soldiers on the streets!  At the end,we found  Joseph, and Mary with Baby Jesus in manger.  My entire family including my father-in-law enjoyed this event.  It was presented ecumenically by neighboring Presbyterian and Catholic churches.

3.  Thanks to Gram and Pops, my youngest daughter’s birth grandparents, we have a beautiful family portrait to send out for our Christmas cards.  A few weeks ago, Pops, a very talented photographer, took us out for a photo shot at the local botanical gardens.

4. Since this is my first Advent as a home schooler, I decided to keep it simple. Fortunately, I found (in my attic) an Advent activity that I never used before. In 2008, my sister send me “The Story of Christmas” Story Book & Advent calendar, and it was put in a box and forgotten. I am so glad I found it. It is set up like an advent calendar, however instead of opening the door, each day has a miniature book you take out and read. Each one tells the story of Jesus’ birth. Dec. 1 spoke about the Holy Land, today spoke of the prophecy of Isaiah. Each book is threaded by a gold cord to hang on the Christmas tree. My girls are taking turns placing the little books.

5. I have been admiring a pepperberry chandelier garland I clipped out of an old Better Homes and Gardens magazine.  However, I did not want to go to the expense of ordering the greenery from a local florist as the article suggested.  Monday, we were on a science scavenger hunt for evergreen trees, and there it was in my front yard. Our large Nandina bush with berries. My little “elves” assisted me as I trimmed the bush.

   Once inside, we  even learned about camouflage as we used green satin ribbon to tie the greenery to my light fixture.  Here are the results:

6.  This is a very special Christmas for us since it is the first Christmas we are “legally” a family.  Although, Bumblebee was living with us last year, she was not “officially” our daughter.  I have so much to be grateful for this year.

7. For more Quick Takes, head on over to Jennifer at the Conversion Diary.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family, Home School, Money, Simplify and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 23

  1. Pingback: Storybook Advent Calendar & Storybook Carols Collection | Apple Ipad for Education

  2. Kim D. says:

    Wow! What a wonderful & uplifting group of quick takes! I’m totally impressed w/the garland, and the Bethlehem walk sounds totally cool.
    Congratulations about Bumblebee–did not know that her adoption was so recent. Also, regarding your sweet mother-in-law, isn’t it amazing how God uses events in our lives to lead us along? God bless you!!

  3. Tracie says:

    WOW! I can’t believe it has been a year since your dear mother in law went to be with Jesus! Time has flown! I know that you miss her dearly. Have a very blessed Christmas!!!

  4. Sharon O says:

    So glad you are officially a family now. I look forward to following you and yours for many years to come. Keep sharing the photos they are adorable.

    Isn’t it hard when we lose someone? this is our first season without my husbands mom too. She loved the holidays. Our ‘grown’ children are missing their grandma.

  5. Bozena says:

    I would love to do”Bethlehem Walk”….What an experience!
    Great pic of your two girls.
    We read the Christmas story from the same book every year. We love it!

  6. Kyooty says:

    The berry’s and Elves are beautiful.

  7. Margaret says:

    I love your chandelier wreath, and I have nandina in my yard, too, so I can do that! Thanks for the idea. Also, I want to tell you I love your blog, and am grateful that you are sharing your journey with us.

  8. Geri says:

    I also miss Mary although I didn’t know her well. She cared so much for Bumblebee and wanted her to be with you, Rick and Ladybug. I share your sadness on this day.
    But she is smiling, along with your parents as you walk through this life showing your children the true meaning of Christmas. You are instilling in the girls the values of a simple celebration and how important it is to stop and “smell the roses”. The girls are truly blessed to be together and have such wonderful loving parents as you and Rick.
    God Bless. G

  9. Grace says:

    Thanks for commenting over at my place.:) Love the way your chandelier turned out. Your little ones are cute…continue enjoying Advent!

  10. burckeri says:

    The Bethlehem Walk sounds like a memorable event; I’ve never heard of that before. Your chandelier is beautiful. This Christmas will be our first with 3-year-old “D”, who is currently legally our foster child–we’re hoping to be placed on adoption probation in January and to have the adoption finalized in June.

Leave a Reply

