Almost WW: Full of Grace

Today, as a Catholic Christian, I celebrate the Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Whether you are Catholic or not, Mary is a beautiful example of listening to God and saying yes, even if it is countercultural. 

Please take time today and read the gospel of Luke 1:26-38.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost WW: Full of Grace

  1. Bridget says:

    Even though I’m not Catholic, I still value the importance of Mary. One of my favorite passages is Luke 1:46-55. “My soul glorifies the Lord. My spirit rejoices in God…” Beautiful, just beautiful!

  2. Sharon O says:

    Like our pastor said on Sunday. It is incredibly hard to imagine Mary was only between 12-15 yet she had a mature mindset and took the role the angel told her so wonderfully. We often think of her in her 30’s or so. No in reality she was a middle schooler young in age and full of life. I am not Catholic but I do realize the role she played in the birth of Jesus. God had his hand on her and protected her. Thank you for this wonderful reminder to read the Story today.

    • Kyooty says:

      I think this has a lot to do with the time. The life expectancy was about 37yrsold? And women were women at 10-14? So she was a woman, now though we have very young girls at that age, maturity, and what we expect of our girls? it has changed so much.

  3. Kyooty says:

    you have this in your house? that is beautiful!!

    • In September, we had the honor of having this statue of Mary in our home. It represents the Lady of Fatima, and is called the Pilgrim Lady of Fatima. The statue is shared throughout our parish, it spends a week with a family. Our dear friend, Kevin, participates in this beautiful ministry.

  4. That is a beautiful statue. What a privilege to have it in your home.

    I love the “Magnificat”, too!

    ” “My soul glorifies the Lord
    47 and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
    48 for he has been mindful
    of the humble state of his servant.
    From now on all generations will call me blessed,
    49 for the Mighty One has done great things for me—
    holy is his name. …..”

  5. AndMilesToGo says:

    wow, beautiful and powerful!

Leave a Reply

