Christmas Cookies: Peanut Butter

Week Ten in our 12 Cookies of Christmas series, this week we chose one of Daddy’s favorite, peanut butter cookies. At his request, we added about 1/3 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips into the batter before baking. 

As always, this recipe was taken from my Mom’s Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook circa 1959.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Mix together thoroughly: 1/2 soft shortening (half butter), 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 egg

Sift together and stir in: 1 1/4 cup sifted GOLD MEDAL Flour, 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 3/4 tsp. baking soda, 1/4 tsp. salt

Chill dough. Roll into balls size of large walnuts. Place3″ apart on lightly greased baking sheet. Flatten with fork dipped in flour…crisscross. Bake in a 375 degree F oven until set but not hard. The recipe calls for 10 to 12 minutes, however I baked my cookies for 8 minutes and they were definitely done.

Makes about 36 cookies.

Please join my friend, Bridget, for 12 Crafts of Christmas.  This week she is creating a Personalized Pendant.

As for our taste testing, here are the updated rankings:

First Place: Chocolate Chip Bars

Second Place: Chocolate Spritz (see a trend here?)

Third Place: Thumbprint Cookies

Fourth Place: Russian Tea Cakes

Fifth Place: Peanut Butter Cookies

Sixth Place: Decorated & Iced Butter Cookies

Seventh Place: Finska Kakor (Finnish Almond Cookies)

Eighth Place: Pumpkin Cut-Outs

Ninth Place: Gingerbread Men, but these were my favorite!

Tenth Place: Scotch Shortbreads, but a favorite with the over 10 crowd.  Great with coffee!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Cookies: Peanut Butter

  1. Bridget says:

    5th place? I’m disappointed. I love PB cookies!

  2. Bozena says:

    Love the pic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Kyooty says:

    AWESOME! I’m making these tonight before bed. Yummy!

  4. Pingback: 12 Crafts of Christmas {Edible Edition} | The Ivey League

  5. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger | A Simple Twist of Faith

  6. Pingback: Cookies of Christmas: Toffee-Nut Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

