A Mother’s Rule of Life

I recently read A Mother’s Rule of Life by Holly Pierlot.  The subtitle of the book is “How to Bring Order to Your Home and Peace to Your Soul”.  I am all for that, especially the “bringing peace to my soul” part. 

According to Holly Pierlot, a rule is a “traditional Christian tool for ordering one’s vocation”. In her book, she uses the example of Mother Teresa and her Missionaries of Charity, and shows the detailed schedule of their day. 

Here are some of my take aways:

Examine my vocation:

For the past few years, I struggled with the conflicts of being a working Mom.  However, I let my fears, anxieties, and ambition cloud my decision making. I anguished over the fact that our oldest daughter was be raised by childcare providers, and soon she would be going to school.  Frankly, working outside the home was easy for me. I was employed by a great company, I was successful, and I was rewarded for that. At work, I know many women who successfully juggle career, family, and home.  However, I knew through prayer and reflection God was calling me to a different vocation, that of full-time Mother.

Establish my priorities:

For my family’s priorities, I have my Family Mission Statement. Holly Pierlot uses a similar strategy in determining her purpose of a married person.  She calls it the Five Priorities of a Married Vocation:

  •  Prayer: your relationship with God.
  • Person: your relationship with self.
  • Partner: your relationship with spouse.
  • Parent: your relationship with your children.
  • Provider: duties of  running a household.

Create my goals from this mission statement:

Although, my family has created a family mission statement, I have not created tangible, personal goals to achieve my part of this.  When I worked, every year I took the mission statement of the company and translated that into challenging but achievable goals for my department.  In turn, my team used these goals to shape the tasks we did on a daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly basis.  Why not use the same methodology now?

Create my schedule to reflect our goals:

This schedule should reflect my vocation and be in a “consistent and orderly way”. Over the past six months, I feel I have made tremendous strides in my prayer life, home school schedule, and household duties. However, I definitely have an opportunity carving out time when it comes to my husband and me.  Date nights, Mom’s Day out, and time for rest will now be added to my schedule–sounds good to me!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith, Family, Simplify and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Mother’s Rule of Life

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I need to reexamine this myself. I definitely “fell off the wagon.” Seat-of-the-pants never works long. *sigh*

    Happy Advent!

Leave a Reply

