Christmas Cookies: Thumbprint Cookies

WOW week seven in our 12 Cookies of Christmas!  These thumbprint cookies are delicious and fun to make.  Perfect size for little hands and appetites.  My girls loved smashing the cookies with their thumbs.  We used strawberry and grape jelly for the filling, and almond for the chopped nuts.  My husband thought these were the best tasting cookies so far. 

Thumbprint Cookies

Mix together thoroughly: 1/2 cup soft butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 egg yolk, 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Stir together and stir in: 1 cup sifted GOLD MEDAL Flour, 1/4 tsp. salt

Roll into 1″ balls. Dip in slightly beaten egg whites. Roll in finely chopped nuts (3/4 cup). Place about 1″apart on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake 5 minutes in a 375 degree F oven. Remove from oven. Quickly press thumb gently on top of each cookies. Return to oven and bake 8 minutes longer. Cool. Place in thumbprint a bit of chopped candied fruit, sparkling jelly, or tinted confectioners’ sugar icing.

Please join Bridget for 12 Crafts of Christmas over at the Ivey League.  This week she is making jewelry and has a three different projects!

First Place: Chocolate Chip Bars

Second Place: Thumbprint Cookies

Third Place: Russian Tea Cakes

Fourth Place: Finska Kakor

Fifth Place: Pumpkin Cut-Outs

Sixth Place: Gingerbread Men

Seventh Place: Scotch Shortbreads, but a favorite with the over 10 crowd.  Great with coffee!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christmas Cookies: Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Sharon O says:

    oh I remember these sitting on my grandma’s plate of cookies with strawberry jam in the middle. You are reminding me of recipes I really do need to dig out and make. Thanks :o)

  2. Kim D. says:

    Yum! Thanks for all these!

  3. Tish says:

    Yum. I think I may just have to make a batch of these with my grandchildren when they come next week. Maybe with a house full of kids and grands, grandma will keep her indulgence down to a reasonable taste!

  4. Kyooty says:

    nom nom nom!! those were what we made in Grade 8 Home Ec. during the cooking class. 🙂 We called them Bird nest during the Spring Season, 🙂

  5. I love making thumbprint cookies. My fave was when I used apricot preserves for the center.

  6. Bridget says:

    Now to decide: strawberry or apricot…

  7. dawn says:

    These are one of my favorite cookies!!! My mom always fills hers with raspberry and apricot… to give us a variety! I want to try your Russian Tea Cakes… Having family from the Ukraine I am so excited to check out your recipe to see if they are the same cookies my grandma used to make. Continue to have fun baking…its one of my all time favorite things to do. As a matter of fact, I am making my nephew a “farm” cake with a barn and cupcake animals for his birthday this weekend!

  8. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Decorated & Iced | A Simple Twist of Faith

  9. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Spritz | A Simple Twist of Faith

  10. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Peanut Butter | A Simple Twist of Faith

  11. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger | A Simple Twist of Faith

  12. Pingback: Cookies of Christmas: Toffee-Nut Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

  13. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Christmas Cookie Tray | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

