The Green Monster

In less than two weeks we will celebrate Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday.  I love Thanksgiving because it is simple, and it is good. It is about gratitude, family, and food.  However, as I start preparing our home for the day and our guests, I hear a voice inside my head that I do not like. 

As I make preparations for the day, I start comparing my house, my furniture,  my decorating to that of glossy magazines, and I come up short.  I surf the web for new recipes and ideas, and I see blogs where the author seems so organized, so full of homemaking tips, that I feel inadequate. I am ashamed to admit it, but I feel the green monster of envy slowly creaking into my conscience. 

Several years ago, my friend, Carmen, wrote a post about Never compare your insides with their outsides.  Today is her birthday, and as a birthday gift, she asked her readers to tell her about a post she wrote that had personally touched them.  It is then, when I thought about that post. 

So, from now to Thanksgiving , I am challenging myself to quit thinking about my  shortcomings, and focus on the many blessings in my life, a personal and loving relationship with God, the Father, the Son and the Spirit, a funny, and loving husband, and two beautiful children.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith, Family, Simplify and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Green Monster

  1. Sharon O says:

    Ah … we have so much to be thankful for… I am thankful for a new ’email’ online friend… :o)
    and I am thankful you challenge yourself to remember all the wonderful blessings surrounding you.

  2. Bozena says:

    Years ago I read this quote somewhere;
    “Never compare yourself to anyone. You will always find people better or worse then you .
    You will always feel better or worse then somebody. Love yourself and be yourself.”
    I’m thankful for you and your beautiful family,Mary. You and Rick are two great people! Thanks for being our friends.

  3. Jordana says:

    With blogs everywhere, it’s hard not to peek over some else’s shoulder and think how nice it would be to have it all together like the mom on the next blog over, but we really can’t know what’s going on in their house or head or heart. Nobody has a perfect life or has it all together. I don’t think there is anything wrong with blogging the good and leaving the bad out, but we do have to keep in mind that most of us don’t show the messes or talk in too much detail about the hard times.

  4. Bridget says:

    I loved that post, too!

Leave a Reply

