Love is Patient

Today, in my prayer group, we discussed the importance of the husband-wife relationship and how it relates to parenting.  We had a lively discussion, however it was what was shared at the end of the session that gave me pause to think…

The leader spoke about a couple who have been married for fifteen years and have eight children. What impressed my friend is not how many children this couple had ,but the relationship the husband and wife have, and how it permeated throughout the family. She asked the wife how this occurred with all the responsibilities and busyness a large family entailed.  The wife told my friend their husband-wife relationship was not always that way.  About five years ago, she started to respond to his husband with  a different approach; with love, the love described in Corinthians 13:4-7. She made the change internally and did not discuss it with his husband. Eventually, he began to respond to her love, and transform his behavior in kind. 

“Love is patient, love is kind.  It is not jealous, is not pompous, it is not inflated, it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests, it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury, it does rejoice over wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth.  It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

So, when my husband walks in the door tonight, what will be the tenor of my greeting to him?

Patient or irritable?

Kind or rude?

Humble or pompous? 

Calm or quick-tempered?

Resentful or forgiving?

Hopeful or disencouraging?

I, as a wife and mother, will set the tone in our home.  

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Marriage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Love is Patient

  1. excellent reminder for the busy and frazzled mom who often forgets what she ought to be doing! (that would be me.)

  2. stephanie says:

    Great advice! I have been practicing the same philosophy since I married my husband. So far, 13 years and stronger than ever. Some women think this is old fashioned or what ever. I say it is the key to a happy and successful marriage and the key to bringing up happy and secure children. I am not the perfect wife or mother, but I try to follow this advice and live my life this way. I have never been happier! The other thing I would add is that it is not good to hang out with women who do nothing but complain about their husbands. If you are close friends, you can offer them this wisdom, but if you don’t feel comfortable doing so, it is best to keep a distance, especially if your children are around.

  3. Sharon O says:

    Ah such wise words. We do set the tone… and we do have a choice… thank you for the wonderful reminder.

  4. dawn says:

    Your words are always so touching with me Mary. I will keep that with what you remind me from Corinthians in my daily life, as a mother, as a teacher, as a friend, as a human being to ALL those who I come in contact with daily. Thank you.

  5. Bozena says:

    Mary,you spoke to my heart. I REALLY needed to hear that. Thank you.
    Stefanie I agree with you about friends who complained or talk badly about their husbands or especially when someone does it in a big group of friends.

Leave a Reply

