Christmas Cookies: Finska Kakor (Finnish Almond Cakes)

We are halfway through our weekly series 12 Cookies of Christmas. Today, my girls were too busy playing with their boat made of chairs and blankets, so I was lonely in my kitchen when I was baking these yummy almond cookies.

Finska Kakor (Finnish Cakes)

“Nut-studded butter strips from Finland.”

Mix together thoroughly: 3/4 cup soft butter, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp. almond extract

Stir in: 2 cups sifted GOLD MEDAL Flour

Mix thoroughly with hands.  Chill dough. Roll out 1/4″ thick. Cut into strips 2 1/2″ long and 3/4″ wide.  Brush tops lightly with one egg white, slightly beaten. Sprinkle with mixture of tbsp. sugar and 1/3 cup finely chopped blanched almonds.  Carefully transfer (several strips at a time) to an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degree F just until cookies begin to turn a very delicate golden brown  for 17 to 20 minutes.

My five-year old really loved these cookies, and so did I.  Although, my mother never baked this particular recipe, these crunchy almond strips took me back to my childhood. Our Norwegian neighbor baked cookies that had the  same wonderful  taste and smell.  

So far, here are our taste testing results:

First Place: Chocolate Chip Bars

Second Place: Russian Tea Cakes

Third Place: Finska Kakor

Fourth Place: Pumpkin Cut-Outs

Fifth Place: Gingerbread Men

Sixth Place: Scotch Shortbreads, but a favorite with the over 10 crowd.  Great with coffee!

Please hop over and visit my friend, Bridget, who is having fun with her children creating the 12 Crafts of Christmas.  This week they are creating a Fleece Tie-Knot Blanket. Very cute!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

