All Saints’ Day?

This morning, the girls and I went to mass to celebrate All Saints’ Day.  I thought this would be a great way to connect Halloween with All Saints’ Day.  I decided to go to the parish school mass so the sermon would be kid friendly. Ladybug would see how her friends, and how the school children behaved at the mass.  Sounds like a great idea, right?  Well…

Our pastor did do a wonderful job of explaining All Saints Day to the children.  He asked the children what the word Halloween means, and explained that it really is All Hallow’s Eve (hallow means holy), so it’s the night before the holy people’s day or the night before All Saints’ Day.   However, halfway through the sermon, Bumblebee had to go to the bathroom.  When we returned to our seats, my cell phone went off , a “cardinal sin” in a Catholic church. I had forgotten to turn it OFF. After that, Bumblebee stood up in the aisle and refused to come back.  The look of defiance on her face was so apparent one of the other Moms commented about it.  When I finally pulled her back into the pew, she started wailing so loud, and I had to leave the mass early.  On the way, home I quizzed Ladybug about All Saints’ Day, however she was so distracted by seeing her friends, she did not remember any of the message our pastor was trying to impart on the children. By the time we arrived home the morning was gone, and we ended up completing Math and Reading assignments in the afternoon, which is a challenge at best with a kindergartener.  Because of all this, we ran out of time to do our saint activities so graciously presented at Become What You Are.  Please tell me some of you have days like this…

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Home School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to All Saints’ Day?

  1. Sharon O says:

    oh my… a definite mom’s day. Your efforts will be blessed but oh I do remember those days of hoping for the best and the children not co-operating. You just have to be flexible as a mom of young ones and don’t let the comments from other mom’s bother you. This can be a teachable moment for you all when given in the right setting. I have days like this with the grand children and it still bothers me why they don’t always do what you want or expect. Little people are challenging but also very rewarding.
    Keep pressing forward and remember you are doing a good job!

  2. Wendy says:

    LOL! Best laid plans…sometimes all you can do is try. You can lead a horse to water but can’t make them drink and all that jazz. Just let it go. She’s young. As a mom of much older kids, I know that days like that are unforgettable in the whole scheme of things. She probably won’t even remember any of it. You can remind her when she is grown up and taking her little kinder to mass.

  3. Bridget says:

    My kid started “singing” LOUDLY in a funeral today. And once I got him quiet, the little sucker started laughing! Then…we fumbled a sippy cup which hit every wooden surface between my hands and the floor.

    I kinda sorta wanted to die a little. Luckily the funeral was for an old friend who really loved children and the pastor said, “I know B. must be smiling just listening to that little one partying in the back.”

    And even though that’s so, so true…I still kinda sorta wanted to die a little.

  4. Tracie says:

    Nope, you are the only one! JUST KIDDING! I have more days like that than I care to remember. It gets easier and better the older they get. Hang in there! You might be surprised by what they will remember tomorrow. You did right by taking them and that will not go unnoticed.

  5. i have a lot of days like this… and i’ve been having them for 25 years and expect to continue to have them for 25 more. 🙂 Okay, maybe only 15 more.

    I’m glad you all went. Keep going. It’s worth it. It really is. 🙂

  6. stephanie says:

    LOL! My life story! Keep your sense of humor and remember they are only kids and are a bit self-centered. I have days like that, oh, about 7 days a week. Keep the faith and stay calm. We cannot control every situation. That is still a tough one for me, but I keep trying….

  7. Tish says:

    LOL Don’t worry, those things happen with all kiddos. That’s why they have special kid-friendly services so that children can learn what to expect and how to act–there’s a necessary learning curve. We were at a niece’s wedding when my then 3 year old granddaughter managed to switch the toggle to “on” on her singing stuffed animal. It was a solemn part of the service and many dirty looks were cast our way. My niece later commented that she guessed exactly what had happened and that it helped her relax and feel a lot less stressed.

  8. tricia says:

    Mary,
    I took an extra two with us to mass. All together I had four boys under 6. Am I nuts? YUP
    Tricia

  9. Michelle says:

    They were fine and we have all had those days I can remember taking my youngest to mass when it was just the boys in school and we had some times. You are doing great and doing what you are suppose to be doing

  10. Marcia says:

    What a great mom to TAKE THEM to Mass! That’s the great part of the day ~ i’m sure all the Saints were smiling down on your family!

Leave a Reply

