Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Chip Bars

This is week four in our weekly series entitled 12 Cookies of Christmas. The recipes we have been making are from my Mom’s 1959 Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook.  My mother is no longer with us, so I thought this would be a nice way of sharing her with my girls.  The fondest memories of my childhood, were when I helped my mother bake.    

This week we chose  Chocolate Chip cookies, and here’s what the cookbook says,

Toll House cookies…first introduced to American homemakers in 1939 through my series of radio talks on Famous Foods from Famous Eating Places.”

The story goes like this:

Ruth Wakefield, a college educated dietician and food lecturer, purchased a historic tourist lodge called the Toll House Inn near Boston, MA. In 1930s. When she was making cookies for her guests, she realized she was out of baker’s chocolate so substituted chopped up Nestle semi-sweet chocolate bars  instead.  The chips did not melt into the dough as expected, and in the process she created an American icon: chocolate chip cookies. By 1939, she had cut a deal with Nestle and the rest is history.  Hurrah for American capitalism!

Here’s the 1959 version of this famous recipe:

Mix together thoroughly: 1/2 cup soft shortening or butter, 3/4 cup (1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 sugar), 1 egg, 1 tsp. vanilla

Sift together and stir in: 1 1/8 cup sifted GOLD MEDAL flour, 1/4 tsp. soda, 1/2 tsp. salt 

Mix into dough: 1/2 cup cut-up nuts, and 1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips.

Bake Cookies: Drop rounded teaspoons about 2″ apart on a lightly greased baking sheet.  Bake 8 to 10 minutes in a 375 degree F oven until delicately browned…cookies should still be soft.  Cool slightly…then removed from baking sheet.  Makes about 3 doz. 2′ cookies.

Bar Variation:  Double the above recipe, and place in a slightly greased 15 x 10 large baking pan and bake it for 20-25 minutes in a 375 degree F oven.  Cool pan on a baking rack, cut into 48 pieces.

These chocolate chip bars were clear winners for the taste testers ages 3 to 10.   Here are the rest of the ranking:

 Week# 2 Pumpkin cut-outs are in second place.

Week #1 Gingerbread Men are in third place. 

Week # 3 Scotch Shortbreads are dead last with the kiddie crowd, however the grown-ups, including me, LOVED them. 

Please hop over and visit my friend, Bridget, who is having fun creating the 12 Crafts of Christmas.  This week her kids and she are making fancy fingerpaint art. Very Andy Warhol.

This post is part of  the Moms’ 30 Minute Blog Challenge hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Chip Bars

  1. Bozena says:

    Look at this sweet face! Way to go girls!

  2. Bridget says:

    This is the same recipe we use at our house. So delicious!
    (Thanks again for the linky love. Next week’s craft may be my favorite!)

  3. stephanie says:

    Cool! It is good to know the history of my favorite cookie!! I wish I could be in your class. :0)

  4. Kyooty says:

    I’m going to give this a shot

  5. I love reading the history behind things like this–fascinating!

    Jamie

  6. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Russian Tea Cakes | A Simple Twist of Faith

  7. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Finska Kakor | A Simple Twist of Faith

  8. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Thumbprint Cookies | A Simple Twist of Faith

  9. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Decorated & Iced | A Simple Twist of Faith

  10. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Spritz | A Simple Twist of Faith

  11. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Peanut Butter | A Simple Twist of Faith

  12. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger | A Simple Twist of Faith

  13. Pingback: Cookies of Christmas: Toffee-Nut Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

