100th Post

This is my 100th post. On Wednesday, 5/5/10, I wrote my inaugural post entitled A Simple Twist of Faith.  I had been at my new job, a full-time Mom, for three days when I started this blog. It has been over five months since I made this faithful decision, and I can honestly say I would not change it, however it has not been an easy transition.  I thank all of my friends, old and new, who have followed me on this blog, who have encouraged me, prayed for me, and laughed with me.  I would like to share  with you a few reflections:

My relationship with my children:

I can honestly say when I worked , my professional life came first. I hate to say it, but my daily schedule reflected this priority.  On weekdays, I left the house at 6:45 am and did not return home until 5:45 pm.  Now, my children take priority in my life and the payoff is that tremendous.  My relationship with my girls has deepen significantly.  I will say it is not perfect. Some days we grow tired of each other because we spent so much time together.  Sometimes, they are cranky to me, sometimes I am cranky towards them.  However, we have built an emotional bond I never had with either of them when I worked.  This is especially true in the case of my youngest child.  The change in her has been striking. Bumblebee has transformed  from an insecure, clingy baby to a confident, happy three-year old girl.  I continue to struggle with making time with my husband a priority.  This is something I still need to work on…

The Generosity of Others

I thank God every day for the support and kindness people have shown my family.  Friends have been so generous with clothes, food, and gift certificates to help us with this transition.  Today is a perfect example. My neighbor’s six-year-old daughter gave Bumblebee her 12- inch Purple Princess bike.  By now, after her birthday party, many of you know Bumblebee loves all things purple and adores princesses.  She was overjoyed with this bicycle. Within, a 1/2 hour of Daddy putting on the training wheels, she was zipping down the street after Ladybug.

Time for Myself

I am still amazed how little time I have for myself and how much I need that time.  I must admit I was under a false impression that stay-at-home Moms have an unlimited amount of time. I still struggle with my expectation of what I should be able to do, and the reality of what I actually can do.  I wish I had a more easygoing personality who could let it all go, but alas I do not.  I struggle with this on a daily basis. I have learned much about myself over the past five months, however I still have a lot of work to do within myself. I need to hand it over to the Lord, and let Him point me in the right direction.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 100th Post

  1. Bridget says:

    Thanks for letting us in on your journey!

  2. Sharon O says:

    oh wow~ you will be so glad in the long run that you are home. I realize it is a transition. A hard one at times, but having a cuddly smiley little face give you a hug of love, or having a sleepy little one give you snuggles. It is priceless. No job outside the home is worth that. No amount of money can give that to you. I thought you were off the whole time so this IS an adjustment and then you have a blog to spend time with too.
    Block out time nightly for you and your husband. Give it an hour after the girls go to bed. Also make sure you have phone calls in the day time or emails just between the two of you. Trade sitting with another mom once a month or even once a week, you watch their children, they watch yours. You get a night out as ‘adults’ and the children get to play with friends. I will be in prayer for you. This was a good decision and yes it is hard but the rewards are so many it is hard to write them down. Please take care.
    (wish we were neighbors we could have tea and and chat or I could babysit and be a ‘grandma’ to those little cute ones)

  3. Kyooty says:

    Thank you so much for sharing with us. I enjoy reading your adventures and daily goings on.

  4. Jordana says:

    I’m so glad you are blogging. I enjoy getting to know you and your girls through your posts. 🙂

  5. politicalhousewyf says:

    Congrats on #100, Mary!

Leave a Reply

