7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 18

1. I am now a proud mother of a five and half-year old who can ride her bike without training wheels.  Daddy took them off on Saturday, by Monday she was racing down the street on her 12 inch Spiderman bike. 

2. This morning, my youngest daughter, Bumblebee, decided to go on an adventure at 4:30 am.  My husband caught her as she was trying to unlock the back door.  She went back to bed, but woke me up when she started singing ” The Guardian Angel Prayer” at 5:00 am.  By 5:30 am, she also roused my oldest daughter.  Of course, after the entire household was awake, she fell back to sleep.  Bumblebee was still snoozing when I came back from seeing my neighbors’ kids off on the school bus at 7:45 am.  This should be a “fun” day!

3. On Thursday morning, our 13 year old refrigerator stopped working.  Actually, it probably stopped working a day or two before because the milk was sour.  All perishables had to be tossed. I missed my 9:00 am Moms’ Prayer Group, because the service said the repairman would come between 10-2.  What time did he come?  1:45 pm.  Thank God, he got the refrigerator working again, however he said it was only a temporary fix.  $250 later, the part has to be ordered and should come in on Monday. 

4. I would really like to go to Blissdom at the end of January 2011.   However, when I looked at the on-line registration, I realized it was out of my budget for this year, see #3. Maybe 2012…Have you ever been to Blissdom, or another blogging conference?  If you had to pick only one conference to go too, which one would you pick? 

5. As part of my 40 Days for Life community outreach mission, I would like to inform my local readers that this Sunday our Bishop will be celebrating a Mass for Life. Afterwards, he will host a panel on Respect Life issues. 

6. This past week, our 12 Cookies of Christmas adventure continued with the baking of Scotch Shortbreads.  Check on Tuesday to see what the girls and I will bake next!

7.This Quick Takes is hosted by Jennifer at the Conversion Diary.  For more Quick Takes, please hop over there!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 18

  1. Bridget says:

    Could your husband come and teach my almost 6 year old how to ride a bike sans training wheels? Because I sure as hang can’t do it! 🙂

    And…love love LOVE Blissdom. It is by far my favorite conference! But I won’t be there in 2011 either(thanks to the tiny baby who will be making her debut around that time). So…let’s both plan for Blissdom’12! See you there!

  2. Jordana says:

    I’ve been to Blissdom every year since it started, but it gets more expensive every year and unless someone gives me free tickets, it is out of my budget too. You could just come to Nashville and hang out with me. 🙂

  3. Kyooty says:

    “our 13 year old refrigerator ” Teens! it’s always something… 🙂

  4. stephanie says:

    So cool about the bike riding!!! I know it is scary about the adventure. There will be more to come…..I know you will on alert….Remember way back when? My daughter also decided to “go shopping” at the same age. By luck, I saw her walking down the street out the window when I was fresh from the shower. She had her purse (the one you gave her) and was on a mission. When I asked her where she was going, she just said in a “matter of fact” voice, “shopping of course”. It was hilarious since she was completely serious! My mom caught my brother riding his pedal tractor down the street buck naked at 0500 in the morning when he was about 3. Kids are fun!!! I am glad yours have the same spunk of their Mother! Sorry about the frig though. Thirteen years is a long time though. Maybe the next one will last until your girls are off in college! Keep up the good work Mom!!

  5. Was this your 100th post? Regardless, it’s a good one! Thanks for dropping by my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

