Worth her weight in gold

Have you ever had a friend who no matter what’s going on in your life, no matter how long it’s been since the two of you have talked, you can pick up the phone and carry on a conversation like when you were in high school?  Have you ever had a friend who accepts you for who you are, no matter what, who rises above the misunderstandings or disagreements, who dares to argue with you on taboo subjects such as politics and religion.  Have you ever had a friend who keeps in touch with you through the years, the jobs, the moves, the changes, and the children. Have you ever had a friend who makes you smile, just hearing her laugh, a laugh that hasn’t changed in 30 years?

I have such a friend, and today is her birthday.  She is now my age, well, at least for a few months. For the sake of her privacy, I will not write her name, but she knows who she is.  I also hope she knows how deeply I love her, how proud I am of her, and how much I miss her.  She is worth her weight in gold.  Happy Birthday, old friend.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Worth her weight in gold

  1. Sharon O says:

    That is beautiful… God bless you both as you treasure your friendship… it is a gift you give each other not just on a birthday but every day. I hope you can spend time together soon.

  2. While I have no contact with anyone from high school, I do have those treasures in my life. God is very good.

    Happy birthday to your friend!

  3. Claire says:

    I love her too. :). Thank God I have one of those friends too. Absolutely priceless.

  4. Bridget says:

    I had dinner with an old friend tonight…one with which I’d gotten out of contact and then tonight was just like old times again. I love when that happens. There’s something special about those kinds of friends.

    Happy birthday, friend!

  5. stephanie says:

    I love you too!!! Thanks for being there for me over the years. You are the best!!

  6. Bozena says:

    Friends are special. Happy Birthday to your friend, Stephanie!
    I’m also lucky to have a friend like that. I know what you mean.

    • tricia says:

      Mary,
      You are one of those friends people just love to be around.
      People just love you!
      Have a wonderful weekend!
      your friend,
      Tricia

  7. Kyooty says:

    Happy Birthday to your friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

