Christmas Cookies: Scotch Shortbread

This is week 3 of our 12 Cookies of Christmas baking adventure through my Mom’s 1959 Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook. We are baking Scotch Shortbreads. My taste testers ages 3-10 did not like this cookie.  “It’s not sweet enough, Mommy.” Ladybug said in a mournful tone. However, the adults did enjoy this cookie very much. I highly recommend it with coffee. In fact, the shortbread is my favorite selection so far.  The description in the cookbook is spot-on: “Old-time delicacy from Scotland…crisp, thick, buttery.” 

Scotch Shortbread

Mix together thoroughly:

1 cup soft butter, 5/8 cup sugar (1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp.)

Stir in:  2 1/2 cups sifted GOLD MEDAL Flour

Mix thoroughly with hands. Chill dough.  Roll out 1/3 to 1/2″ thick.  Cut into fancy shapes (small leaves, ovals, squares, etc.).  We used a simple 2″ circle cookie cutter.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in a 300 degree F oven. (The tops of the cookies do not brown during baking…nor does shapes of the cookies change.) This recipe makes about 2 dozen cookies.

So far, here are the results of the taste test:

Week# 2 Pumpkin cut-outs are winning.

Week #1 Gingerbread Men are a close second. 

Please hop over and visit my friend, Bridget, who is having fun creating the 12 Crafts of Christmas.  This week she is making glass etchings.

This post is part of  the Moms’ 30 Minute Blog Challenge hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christmas Cookies: Scotch Shortbread

  1. Bridget says:

    This is probably going to be my favorite. I LOVE shortbread more than any other cookie!

  2. Kyooty says:

    I totally love shortbread. The kind I make are whipped, and balled.

  3. Bozena says:

    LOVE shortbread!

  4. Sharon says:

    Put a plate of shorbread cookies in front of me and I just can’t control myself. If the kids won’t eat them, it’s more cookies for the grown-ups, right? 😀

  5. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 18 | A Simple Twist of Faith

  6. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Chip Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

  7. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Russian Tea Cakes | A Simple Twist of Faith

  8. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Finska Kakor | A Simple Twist of Faith

  9. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Thumbprint Cookies | A Simple Twist of Faith

  10. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Decorated & Iced | A Simple Twist of Faith

  11. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Spritz | A Simple Twist of Faith

  12. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Peanut Butter | A Simple Twist of Faith

  13. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger | A Simple Twist of Faith

  14. Pingback: Cookies of Christmas: Toffee-Nut Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

  15. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Christmas Cookie Tray | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

