The Three Rs

About a month ago, Kim asked me to share about our home schooling schedule, and I wrote about our morning circle time routine.  Today, I would like to share with you the “meat and potatoes” of our home schooling day, and that is the three Rs, Reading, wRiting, and aRithmatic.  

Originally, our circle time started at 8:00 am, however now that the sun is coming up later, my children are sleeping longer too.  So, our circle time starts more realistically at 8:15 am.  It lasts about 45 minutes, and includes catechism and a daily scripture reading.  To read more about it, please click here.

After circle time, we have a break. I used the time to exercise on our elliptical machine. For 30 minutes, my girls watch Super Why on pbs kids.   If you have never seen this engaging program, I suggest you watch it with your children.  Super Why is designed to teach reading skills, with a layered approach that targets children ages 3-6.  Both of my girls love it!  After Super Why, they draw or complete a craft that is related to the bible story we read during circle time.  Prior to getting on the elliptical I set up all the materials they need, and they complete the project on their own.  I am of the mindset, that arts and crafts are not just about the finished project, but the art of doing it. Having them complete the craft activity at this time, reinforces what they learned during circle time, and gives me time to finish exercising.   We posted our creations on the buffet for Daddy to see what he arrives home, and later place them in their journals for safekeeping. 

About 9:45 am, we start Math instruction.  We are using Saxon Math for Kindergarten, and I like the manipulatives used for it.  My three-year old plays along, as she can.  She is learning her numbers, counting, and shapes.  Since we are also learning our numbers, and colors in Chinese, we also use the manipulatives for that.  We are usually finished with Math about 10:20 am, and then it is time for snack and outside play. 

At 11:00 am, we head to the sofa for reading.  We are using The Ordinary Parenting Guide to Teach Reading, and do “the two review and one” method of instruction outlined in the book.  Ladybug even made up a song called, “Two Review, and One New!”.  We review the past two lessons, and learn one new lesson. Last week, lesson 50 was rather tricky for us, so we broke up the lesson into four sections.  After reading, Ladybug works on her phonics workbook independently, although I am there to answer any questions.  Then, she works on  her handwriting assignment. By the time that is all completed, it is usually about 12:30 pm and time for lunch.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Home School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Three Rs

  1. Sharon O says:

    Wow you have it all figured out. Our son and his wife are home schooling Samuel our six year old grandson. He is doing well with it. He does other things to be social outside of the home and he is reading at a third grade level. I do believe in home schooling if the parents are healthy (emotionally) and able to deal with the all day long interactions. I think it is actually really good for the little kids… k- 3rd or 4th grade. Some point in time they need to get in a school type setting but not too early. wish you great success with this decision.

  2. amber says:

    I haven’t seen Super Why, but it sounds like a great resource I should use with my step-son.

  3. Kim D. says:

    That sounds wonderful!! Makes me miss homeschooling (I totally do). I love that you are able to do everything in the morning.
    Also, I love the Ordinary Parents Guide to Teaching Reading!

Leave a Reply

