Christmas Cookies:Gingerbread Man

Believe it or not, there are 12 weeks until Christmas. My blogging buddy,   Bridget, is posting a great weekly series called the 12 Crafts of Christmas.  Frankly, I am not very “crafty”, however I have been going through my mother’s Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook she received as a wedding present in 1959. I have decided to take the next 12 weeks and test out some vintage Christmas cookies recipes.  My testers will be seven children who range in ages 3-10.  

This week we baked gingerbread man using the “Merry Christmas Cookies Dark Dough recipe found on page 201.  Here’s the recipe:

Mix together thoroughly:

1/3 cup soft shortening, 1/3 brown sugar, 1 egg, & 2/3 cup molasses.

Sift together and stir in:

2 3/4 cup sifted GOLD MEDAL Flour, 1 tsp. soda, 1 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. ginger.

Chill dough.  Roll out thick, about 1/4 inch.  Cut into desired shapes. Place on a lightly greased baking sheet.  Bake at 375 degree oven until when touched lightly with finger, no imprint remains, 6-10 minutes, makes about 12 gingerbread men. So far, the four children who eat them this week, said they were yummy.

This post is part the Moms’ 30 Minute Blog Challenge and hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.  

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Christmas Cookies:Gingerbread Man

  1. Bridget says:

    Oh! This will be fun! I can’t wait to see which cookies rate the best so I’ll know which ones to make.

    p.s. Thanks for the linky love!

  2. Bozena says:

    I can smell it…. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  3. tricia says:

    I just want to bite his little head and arms off! He looks good.
    yummmmm

  4. Sharon O says:

    One thing I can remember about Christmas is my grandma’s cookie basket. She made some really good ones and some special ones too. Oh my I must do some thinking about what they were called. This is a wonderful time for you to make memories with your girls. take care and have fun.

  5. Kyooty says:

    nom nom nom!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE Ginger Bread men. Last Christmas I baked Cookies with AJ, he took picture of the whole experience for School. I shared this picture with another friend and she gave them to a teacher in BC! because her class was doing a whole section on Ginger Bread Men/Village. The teachers out there use Ginger Bread Men as Section for the Holiday Season so that it includes all religions/non religious kids. Everyone loves A ginger Bread Man! 🙂

  6. Geri says:

    After my experience with your little helpers last year, my kitchen will never be the same. Bakin cookies was one of my favorite childhood memories and I hope that our time baking cookies are fond memories for the boys and many neighbor kids and scouts through the years. I will have to share my Jello cookie recipe with you. It’s the only thing the guys have always requested during the holidays and in “care packages”.
    I can smell the gingerbread men from here!

  7. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 16 | A Simple Twist of Faith

  8. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Pumpkins | A Simple Twist of Faith

  9. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Scotch Shortbread | A Simple Twist of Faith

  10. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 18 | A Simple Twist of Faith

  11. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Chip Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

  12. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Russian Tea Cakes | A Simple Twist of Faith

  13. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Finska Kakor | A Simple Twist of Faith

  14. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Thumbprint Cookies | A Simple Twist of Faith

  15. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Decorated & Iced | A Simple Twist of Faith

  16. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Spritz | A Simple Twist of Faith

  17. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Peanut Butter | A Simple Twist of Faith

  18. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Nurnberger | A Simple Twist of Faith

  19. Pingback: Cookies of Christmas: Toffee-Nut Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

