Around the Fire

It has been awhile since this picture was taken, which tells me , husband extraordinaire and I need some time for us, and just us.  Many couples have regular date nights, a night on the town or a special weekend away. 

One of the most relaxing things for my husband and I do is to share a beer around our fire pit.  After the girls go to bed, on clear, cool nights, we head outside in our backyard, sit in our Adirondack chairs, and start a fire. There is something so restful about gazing into the flames.

We have our best conversations around that fire pit.  We talked about everything and nothing at all.  We reminisce about when we first met.  We remember times long ago, of our parents, of our respective childhoods.  We talk of the future: plans, and dreams of our children and for ourselves.  Looking at this picture, has given me an idea. As soon as “the great flood” ends in our part of the country, and the firewood dries, I think we will have to meet by the fire again.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Around the Fire

  1. Sharon O says:

    Oh we have a fireplace thing too and then my hubby put up small white lights all around the fence within our courtyard then we bought a fountain so it is peaceful and quiet and nice at night. (my hubby has a beer I have a glass of wine too).
    I hope you make it a very special part of your fall season as long as weather allows.

  2. Tish says:

    Great idea. We’re empty nesters and we usually do this kind of bonding on a late evening walk, but the Adirondack chairs and liquid beverage of choice and the fire sure sound appealing. You surely didn’t want to have any fires during this past HOT awful summer, so this will be in good time.

  3. Kay says:

    We enjoy our fire pit too, especially on starry nights. Sounds like a good idea!

  4. tricia says:

    Great legs Rick!!! ha ha

    You guys are so great together. Almost like peanut butter and jelly.
    I love hearing great stuff about great friends.

    your friend,
    Tricia

  5. Kyooty says:

    That’s as much fun as sitting in a car watching the neighbours drive by, seriously it’s fun!

Leave a Reply

