Without going crazy in the process

On Tuesdays, I usually hook up with Jamie at Steady Mom for her 30-Minute Blog Challenge.  Today is no exception , especially since I could really relate to her post entitled Are You an Introverted Mom? In my recent voyage into self-awareness, I come to realize I too am an introvert, however, unlike Jamie, my personality type best resembles ISTJ.

Going on five months now, I have been challenged by my role of full-time home schooling Mom.  Being a task-oriented gal, I am focused on learning how  to be the best Mom I can be without going crazy in the process. 

I would like to share with you some recent posts I read that have helped me a great deal in understanding myself. The first article is by Jennifer of the Conversion Diary subtitled A Few Things I’ve Learned from Having Four Kids in Five Years.  I felt she was writing the “Know Thyself” section of the post directly to me.  I need to print it on and tape it to my bathroom mirror. The other two posts are on Perfection, one written by Dan of Single Dad Laughing, and the other as a response to Dan’s essay written by my friend, Carmen.

So, did you read them?  What do you think?  Being the practical person,  I can appreciate Jennifer’s tips on understanding my personality type, and my need for quiet time.  I have also learned  I have to pick and choose my priorities and things will never be perfect.  This has been a hard realization for me, so I can definitely identify  Dan’s and Carmen’s candid yet inspiring posts.

Right now, I should be:

  • Cleaning my kitchen which looks like a bomb exploded peanut butter, jelly and milk.
  • Weeding my garden, which is overgrown and probably has poison ivy in it.
  • Exercising with weights, so I can strength by my upper body
  • Sewing Halloween costumes, so I don’t have to race out and buy something at the last minute.
  • Organizing my home schooling cabinet, so my child is not hurt by the avalanche of books when she opens it tomorrow morning.

But instead I am writing this post, and enjoying my quiet time so I won’t be cranky to my girls.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Without going crazy in the process

  1. Kyooty says:

    I should be doing all kinds of things, I went and took a nap this morning.

  2. tricia says:

    Mary,

    All great blogs. Thanks!

    Exrovert for sure here! I need activity to recharge. I love being around people. The more the better.

    your friend,
    Tricia

  3. Tish says:

    I’m an ISTJ too. Off the charts for the T & J and normal range I & S. But I really need that time to re-charge that’s common to introverts. I need alone time. I certainly know how to extrovert, you can’t be a primary grade teacher without extroverting all during the school day, but man oh man, when I got home, DH knew that he couldn’t talk to me for at least 30 minutes. And yes, you’re right about prioritizing. Like my recent juggling post, I give each thing the attention it needs only when it really needs it. I think that’s the only way to survive as a mom.

Leave a Reply

