Do I Know Me?

When I first read Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective Families, I realized my biggest weakness was my lack of self-awareness.  After spending five months at home with my girls, I have come to realize that the same triggers that can lead to meltdowns in them also apply to me:

Lack of Sleep: This is probably my biggest challenge, I do not sleep nearly enough.  If I get 6 1/2 hours of sleep at night, that is a victory.  Today, my husband was complaining, “So and so, takes a nap every Sunday.”  I have tried naps, but I cannot go to sleep.  My best chance of getting more sleep, is going to bed earlier. I have set a goal of a 10:00 pm bedtime this week. Of course, tonight Mad Men is on at 10:00 pm, the one and only TV show I watch, so that blows that plan.  Oh well, I’ll start on Monday...   

Food and Drink:  I am proud to say I have kicked my Diet Coke habit, however I still really need to drink more water and less coffee.  Friday, I fasted and then stood in front of Planned Parenthood in the hot sun with no water, and ended up with a migraine headache for Friday and Saturday.  Not good…

Quiet Time: Last week we had some fun experiences, however I overscheduled the week.   I now realize my children and I are happiest when we have some quiet time in the afternoon.  This means having all home schooling activities completed before nap time.  Although, my oldest daughter does not nap anymore, she also needs quiet time away from Mommy.  Last week, she, tired and cranky, said, “Mommy, I am tired of you.”  To be quite honest, I completely understood how she felt.

Conclusion: I think part of self-awareness comes from knowing my own weaknesses, and avoiding situations which bring them to light.  I need to take care of myself, so I have the proper energy and attitude to take care of children and my husband.  Like the Act of Contrition states, “I firmly resolve with the help of Thy Grace, to sin no more and to avoid the near occasions of sin.”

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do I Know Me?

  1. Sharon O says:

    Good job. Self awareness is the FIRST step to a new direction for us all. Believe me I don’t drink enough water that is my ‘issue’ and I don’t go to bed before 11:00 most nights. Should try for 10:00 that would be a good goal. Thanks for the challenge and next time you go ‘stand’ outside all day long taking a water bottle is a good choice. :o)

    • Actually it was only one hour I was “standing” there. So far, since Wednesday two mothers have decided to keep their babies and both approached our 40 days team and asked for some support information. I wasn’t there when it happen but it is encouraging to know we are helping people with our efforts.

  2. tricia says:

    Mary,
    Just an idea with the water thing. Fill up a water pitcher every morning and make sure it’s gone before bed every night. It’s all about the hydration girl.
    Great post!
    Tricia

  3. stephanie says:

    The sleep thing is so important. That is one of the reason we are homeschooling since the kids don’t have to be on the bus at 0645 in the morning. I start our school at 0900 instead of 0800. We are all better rested and we have a productive day. I cannot go to sleep earlier than 2200 or 2300. I am slow in the morning but wide awake at night. We have a good plan so far. Everyone is different, so I agree that it is so important to know yourself and how and when you are the most productive. I have not conquered the diet coke thing yet. BTW, I think it is awesome what you are doing for the pro-life cause!!! Keep up the good work on that front as well.

    • I totally understand about the long hours, they are so tough on young children. When I was working outside the home, Bumblebee and I left the house at 6:45 am for daycare. I picked up Ladybug after work, and on good day of traffic, we arrived home at 5:45 pm. Half the time, she fell asleep in the car because she was so exhausted from her day.

  4. Kyooty says:

    I too struggle with getting to bed earlier. I managed 11pm lastnight. I would sleep the whole day away if I could but that doesn’t get the laundry, dishes, food prepared or today the voting done. 😮 I will try again to aim for 11pm, and I’m home here during the day. 😛 alone! I’ve got nothign to keep me from having a nap but I know somedays? nothing would get accomplished because I’d be asleep all day. Yes that could be a sign of depression or a sign of “mom’s over extended” I can’t imagine how working mom’s do it?

    (hangs head in shame and takes another swig of diet pop):p

    • Kyooty,
      Frankly, I gave up my Diet Coke habit for financial reasons. I was spending over $25 a month for soda. My budget for groceries and household consumables is $400 a month. My husband also gave up his weekly 12 pack of beer habit, in order to save us an additional $40 per month.

  5. Liz Cahill says:

    Just a different take on things: Here’s a brief description of “Life on the Farm”. Total children in the family is four, one 10 year old, one 9 year old, one 5 year old and an 8 month old who doesn’t always sleep all night as you remember. School bus is 7:30, two have to be out the door with lunches in hand when the bus pulls into the yard. The five year old has pre school Mon, Wed, Thurs. at 9:00 in town, no bus, she has to be taken and picked up at 12:00. It is harvest time, so the crew out cutting the fields has to have two lunches to get them through the day, that’s 14 sandwiches, plus drinks, chips, fruit, etc. During the rest of the year, lunch is a big hot meal served at 12:00 for a crew of 5. Oh, and then there’s lots of laundry, shopping at the grocery store, and working in the office to pay bills and some days to answer the constantly ringing phone. I get tired just watching the activity.

    Tammy seems happy with all this, but, yes, she does get tired. Fortunately, the kids go to sleep early (8:00) on week days and she follows them right after.

    I hope you are having fun with your “littles” and for the most part enjoying the full-time Mom job.

    Aunt Liz

    PS, those little girls are tooooooo cute.

    • Yes, Aunt Liz, there is no doubt, Tammy is a saint, and I am definitely not. 🙂

      • Liz Cahill says:

        She is definitely not a saint, just a different way of life. I thought you would enjoy! One thing about the farm life is that the outside distractions are fewer. Also, everyone else is in the same situation. I don’t think I would have had the ability to cope as well as she does. The girls are great, good students, and well behaved (except for the normal stuff). The little boy is very cute, but then, he is a baby, and God makes babies cute so we want to take care of them all the time. I think you are doing a marvelous job with your two “littles”. I had forgotten about your blog until I ran across it recently. Hope you don’t mind if I keep peeking in. Aunt Liz

  6. Thanks so much for reading and commenting on my blog. It has been a wonderful creative and emotional outlet for me, I am able to keep up with old friends, and meet new ones too.

    I am not kidding about Tammy, she is amazing. I do not know how she does it all. I am still trying to figure it all out and this blog really helps me in the process.

Leave a comment