Time Out for Mommy

Monday at 5:30 pm , I was in my bedroom for a self-imposed time out.  My husband came home early from work. No sooner than he walked in the door, I exclaimed, “I am done”, and marched down the hallway.   I was exhausted from a day spent with two little girls who were acting equally naughty. As if perfectly choreographed,  my daughters took turns at not listening, being disrespectful, and throwing tantrums.   

This week,  as part of my 40 Days of Life commitment, I have consciously tried to use my emotional pause button, or “talk like a princess” as my five-year old calls it.  I can honestly say I had tried my best not to yell, or speak in a harsh tone, however by the evening I was  in desperate need of a time out for Mommy. 

Sometimes, I wonder if I know what I am doing when it comes to my new full-time job of motherhood.  I feel like such an amateur, like I am playing a part in a play I have not completely rehearsed yet.  The perfect balance of showing my children love and teaching them respect and discipline, seems impossible to achieve.   Sometimes, I wonder if I was meant to play this part, or am I just a big fraud.

Then a little knock on the door, “Mommy, can I come in?”, my five-year old asks in a hesitant voice.  I melt.  I walk into the dining room, I noticed the table was set, and dinner ready.  Grilled hamburgers and a relish tray, but I was not complaining.  I look at my husband, and my two  young daughters, who both say, “Sorry, Mommy” and “I love you, Mommy”.  And just like that, all is right with the world.

This post is part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Blog Challenge hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Time Out for Mommy

  1. Sharon says:

    We all need a time-out sometimes! 🙂 My oldest is 13, and I still feel like an amateur.

  2. Kyooty says:

    Your girls are very sweet! I’ve had days like that too. I really think that every parent is an Amateur. I’ve never been Mom to an 11yrold Name so every step lately is new. Once I get to the next child, I’ve never been a Mom to an 11yrold (name) and so on until I get to my youngest. Each step is new because each child is new and each child has a different way of doing everything. No matter how alike my children may look or their experience of being in the same family, each time I’m an amateur. I’m learning along with every one else what the world is like with my children in it. Everyday is so different than the last, and I’m learning. Also? your girls way sweeter then this my world with boys? I think I need to do more work. 😛

  3. Bozena says:

    Mary,
    You are perffect to do this job. I can’t tell you how many times I lost it and how many times I left the house crying and saying”I’m done”.
    It is perffectly normal. Give yourself credit! Being a mother it is not the easiest job.

  4. stephanie says:

    We are all amateurs. When we think we know what we are doing, the kids get older and the challenges and situations change. My 7 year old asked me today, “Mom, how did you know how to be a Mommy?” It was the sweetest thing. I just told her than I knew that I must feed her, keep her safe and clean and more than anything else, love her with all my heart. The love is the most important part. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You are doing a great job. Your girls also need to know that you are human and it is OK for things not to be perfect all the time. I know you well and love you like you are my sister. Do not try to be perfect. You are naturally good at making a happy loving home. Your girls will continue to have their “moods”. You know you did. Ha ha. Anyway, just keep loving them like you do and if this happens again, and I am sure it will, try to think back to the times you did something similar when you were a little girl and then have a laugh about it. Remember that they are still little and see the world from a different perspective. I still keep waiting for one of my kids to see something the same way I do. :0) Keep a sense of humor!

  5. Wendy says:

    I totally and completely agree with Stephanie. And if you didn’t occasionally have melt down days, I would think you WERE living in a make believe fraudulent world. It happens. Just thank God for the little mercies… like a husband who comes home early and makes dinner without being asked and also has a “little talk” with a couple of little ones who behaved badly and need to learn (by experience) that their behavior affects other people. One of the biggest lessons for all kids to learn: mommy is a person who makes mistakes and has feelings that can get hurt. Don’t be so hard on yourself. It is not easy to be at home with little ones all day everyday. You are doing a great job and I for one am glad you shared an imperfect day with us. Today will be better. Don’t set super high goals for today. Just get back on track, praising their positive behaviors today. Have a good one!

  6. Bridget says:

    Mommy Time Outs are regular occurrences here!

  7. tricia says:

    Mary,
    Sounds like we are in the same boat girl. We went from working so long knowing our job inside and out to knowing NOTHING.
    We had a bad day yesterday too. In fact I had to go look at my boys after they fell asleep to assure myself how sweet they can be (when sleeping that is).
    You are doing a fabulous job.
    your friend,
    Tricia

  8. Tracie says:

    Mary, I was so glad to read your post! I was wondering if your were this perfect woman, wife and mother, but I see that , just like me, you really are human! SMILE! I have often had days just like yours. More of them that I would like to admit. But I know that this is what God has called me to do. The devil is out to steal, kill and destroy all that is lovely and wholesome. He knows what buttons to push to get us to do what we don’t want to do. We have to remember everyday that even Paul had a hard time doing what was right. He said why is is that I do what I know is wrong and don’t do what i know is right, something like that. Anyway, it is a struggle, but we are strong women AND we have God on our side. We get to learn, everyday, how to deal with the little people in our lives. Everyday, that makes us stronger. Have a blessed day!

  9. Kay says:

    Mary, I’ve felt the same way so many times and even posted about it a couple of weeks ago. But my kids are almost grown now and I feel like I’m just getting the hang of things and now it’s too late. But in God’s economy it’s not too late at all. He is so gracious to fill in all the cracks of my mistakes with His grace. I always tell others that I have really raised my kids on my best attempts and prayers and God’s miraculous grace.

    You hang in there. I can tell, even from afar and over the internet, that you are a great mom. Oh, if only many other moms would even bother to try to “play the role” you are playing. God will bless your efforts, your prayers, your godly decisions. Even when it seems you are making a mess of things, God is still at work and He is sufficient in our times of weakness.

    Thanks for being so transparent. I hope you have a great day with your girls!

  10. Sharon O says:

    I was just feeling that way yesterday with my two grandsons. One was giving me his ‘attitude’ at age 6 and I was being firm and grumpy. Later he came to me and said ‘I am really having fun with you today.’ HUMBLE yourself grandma. They are just little people in a life change. Mommy brought the third brother home and all was great after the anticipation was lowered when mommy and daddy came in the door. When you have a six year old and a two and half year old anticipate a ‘new brother’ behavior might be more ‘unsteady’. Their world is now very different.
    Thank you for sharing the honest ‘moment’s of a mommy’ believe me grandma’s have them too.

  11. Oh, girl I walk in your same shoes every day! We’re in it together, friend.

    I recently had some much needed time away to rest recharge and it was soooo needed.

    Visiting from Steady Mom,
    ~h

  12. kat gorman says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog! I will keep checking back on yours– sounds like we do have a lot in common! 🙂

  13. Jordana says:

    Sometimes I need a time out too. It’s hard being around little people all day long without a break. Very hard. No matter how much you love them. I’m glad it was better when you came out of isolation. 🙂

  14. Thank you, kind readers!
    I cannot tell you all how much I appreciate your words of encouragement.

  15. Freeman Fam says:

    oh, goodness. I have had so many similar moments – this week alone! It’s amazing how just when you’re at the end of your rope and you think you can’t take anymore, the kids just melt your heart and you’re right – everything is ok again. Loved this honest post! And love your commitment not to yell. I’ve made the same commitment, too, and it is a struggle, but something I really value and really want to do!

  16. Rebecca says:

    Such a cute idea. Mine is only 10 months, so nap time is my time out for now, but I may steal this idea in the future. I think everyone is a rookie in motherhood because just as soon as you figure something out your little one grows up and changes and you have to figure it all out again!

  17. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Vol.14 | A Simple Twist of Faith

  18. Tish says:

    Awww. Yes, mommies need time out (off) some times and some times a good word from Daddy can help restore the balance that’s needed. I’m glad there was a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

