40 Days for Life

From September 22-October 31, I will be participating in  40 Days for Life.  I can honestly say that I have never been politically or socially active in my life. Frankly, I am anxious about the upcoming experience.

40 Days for Life consist of :

40 days of pray and fasting

For me, this means continuing my new prayer schedule of waking up early for private mediation outside, reading scripture, and listening to a daily video reflection.  I am also incorporate the following:

Prayer to End Abortion   

As for fasting, there are many ways one can fast and it’s not all about food. I am planning meatless Fridays during these 40 days.  However, I am also going to fast from gossip, and being impatient with my children.  

40 days of peaceful vigil

This is the scariest part of the 40 days of Life for me.  I have committed to standing in front of our local Planned Parenthood office for one hour each week for the 40 days with a sign.  My sign  simply says “Choose Life”.  My husband had this sign made.  It expresses my view because “Choose Life”is what both of my daughters’ birth mothers did, and for their decisions, I will always be extremely grateful.

40 days of community outreach

I guess this blog could be considered a part of my community outreach message.  I will ask you, my freinds, to pray for the end of abortion, and for me ,as I step out of my comfort zone, and get involved in a cause I believe in, the end of abortion.

This post is part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Blog Challenge and hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.  Please note the opinion expressed on this post is strictly my own.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 40 Days for Life

  1. Sharon O says:

    I will be praying for you 40 days is a long time but when you are done you will have new patterns and new disciplines in your life. I really do not understand the concept of abortion especially when one can have a 3d picture now of the baby before it is born. Also 4 out of 5 of our grand children were preemie. They are little tiny babies. Thriving inside till they are ready to be born sometimes early. Psalm 139 is a classic example of the Lord’s view. He knows them way before they are born. Bless you as you start your new journey.

  2. Kim D. says:

    Thanks for this inspiring post. I am discerning how to participate in 40DfL this year and I like your ideas! I’m hoping to start and stick with a daily family rosary…but maybe a daily mom-only rosary will be more achievable; I can’t decide! 🙂

  3. Bozena says:

    Way to go Mary. I admire your 40 days for life. I’m sure more people like you will make a difference in this world. You got me thinking”what can I do to make others to choose life?”

  4. KDL says:

    We often support a crisis pregnancy clinic here that take a very pro-mother, pro-child stance. Their goal is to make abortion something that is not wanted or needed. They provide pre-natal care to women who can’t get afford it otherwise, and often connect them with local churches who become like extended family. I had not heard of 40 days for life, but will check it out. I sometimes address this issue from the standpoint of valuing all people – especially those with special needs, some of which are currently diagnosed and discarded before birth. How sad to miss out on these children that our Lord knit together in their mother’s wombs.

  5. Margaret says:

    Mary- I participated in 40 Days for Life for the first time last spring. It was a step out in faith! The fasting part was already in place because it coincided with Lent, and I was fasting anyway. This time I may offer up coffee to strengthen my prayer. Gulp! It seemed like committing an hour a week to pray in front of the abortion place would be a BIG SACRIFICE, but it turned out to be a spiritually enriching time for me each week. When the 40 days was over, I kind of missed that hour dedicated prayer and sacrifice of my own comfort! Thank you for your courageous commitment. God, who sees everything, will see your act of love.

  6. Millie Lopus says:

    Mary, you are so inspiring. As part of your Moms’ group I want to encourage all Moms who are participating in other Moms’ groups to consider adding pro-life outreach efforts. Birthright Crisis Pregnancy Centers are international and they are always looking for volunteer counselors (training provided) as well as donations of baby items, etc. I would also encourage them to go to the 40 days for life website to see if it is being done in their local area. Thanks for being the best you can be and inspiring the rest of us to strive to do the same. God bless!

  7. Brenda says:

    Mary, I also participated in 40 Days for Life for the first time last spring. In January, I participated in the DC March for Life for the first time, and that is when my eyes were opened to the fact that the pro-lifers weren’t a small group of folks — their presence was huge and amazing! (Most of the mainstream media greatly downplayed the March and lied about the attendance!) My favorite part of 40 Days last spring was hearing the honks of people in the cars/trucks who agreed with pro-life. Like Margaret, I also came to miss that special time after it was over. Great post!

  8. Cindy Gorman says:

    Hey Mary !! Kevin participated in the 40 days of life. He also chaperoned Bri’s class last year to the March for Life. We both were just ask by the BSHS Religion teacher if we would consider going for an overnight to the March for Life this year as chaperones. We of course said yes !! Great experience for the young men and ladies growing up in this ever changing world.
    God Bless : )

  9. Pingback: Time Out for Mommy | A Simple Twist of Faith

  10. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Vol.14 | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

