Weekend Project

This weekend I dusted off my sewing machine and placed it in my guest room.  Since I started staying home, I have been wanting  to finish several decorating projects which have been tucked away in boxes for at least four years now. Funny, before I stopped working outside of the home, I had an idealistic view of how much free time I would really have.  Needless to say, all of these projects have remained in their respective boxes uncompleted. 

This week I started thinking about a post I read awhile back from  Simple Mom entitled “Perfection: the Thief of “Good Enough”.  In it, Tsh’s mother-in-law commented she did not sew when her children were little until she realized she would do it when she found small snippets of time during the day. With that philosophy in mind, I decided to carve out a sewing corner in my guest room so I can sew at a moment’s notice, and not spend 15 minutes trying to find of the necessary materials and equipment. 

As luck would have it, my good friend, Kathy, offered to take my girls on Saturday for several hours. So, I was able to set my plan in motion and here it is…and yes, I am acutely aware that the chair does not match the table or the rest of the decor in the room, but I am at peace with that.  Tomorrow, I am going to try to thread the sewing machine if I can remember how.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Simplify and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekend Project

  1. Sharon O says:

    I am back to sewing also. Actually made a gorgeous quilt. With some help from a quilter. It is gratifying to know you have made it and others appreciate your work. Last Christmas each grand child got a new pillow with two new pillow cases of their own for bed. They pack them around every where. (they are three 6 year olds and one 11 year old) simple sewing is fun and the key is to not get frustrated. Now I am making two more quilts. Happy sewing.

  2. tricia says:

    Mary,
    Adorable sewing area!!!!!!
    The chair looks great! Not matching furniture is very cool. I keep seeing it in magazines etc… None of the furniture in my house matches. I have this theory. Get what you love and it will blend. Just like that disco ball I have. It goes with just about everything!!! ha ha
    Good for you for taking on the sewing machine. I have fond memories of my mom making my dresses and matching hair bows for me when I was your girls age.
    How fun!
    I think I would maybe learn how to do that IF I had girls, but, I don’t so there is that.
    Have a wonderful week my friend.
    Tricia

  3. Bozena says:

    Love your sewing corner Mary. Once the sewing machine is out it is easier actually to open it and put yourself to work. I know it by experience. When my girls were much younger I made three identical smocked dresses for them for a good friend of ours wedding. They were in the center of attention just after the bride. Happy sewing!

  4. Kyooty says:

    That is wonderful! I love it. I really like that table.

  5. Tish says:

    Good for you! My husband likes that phrase too, he says “perfection is the enemy of good enough.” So true. Enjoy your sewing. I inherited my grandmother’s Singer and get it out only once or twice a year. It’s a gem, though, and I often imagine getting serious about sewing. Maybe . . . .

  6. Jordana says:

    Having a dedicated sewing area will definitely make getting to those little projects more likely. I wish I could think of a good place to keep my sewing stuff out full time, but so far nothing comes to mind. It may be because I have too much stuff…

Leave a Reply

