7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 12

1. Peanut butter and chocolate to me are a match made in heaven.   This week, I baked a double batch of Peanut Butter Blossom cookies. Yum, yum, fortunately for my hips, I gave most of them away as a thank you gift.  The kids and their buddies are enjoying the rest…simple pleasures.

2. Thank you, Bozena, for the wonderful art supplies you sent home with us.  Thursday,the girls experimented with the paint sets and had a blast.  They painted pictures of their science topic of the day, exercise, and the Bible story of Miriam and Baby Moses.  Bumblebee LOVES babies.

3. Thursday also resumed the meeting of the Moms’ Prayer Group I belong.  The group takes a hiatus for the summer. Most of the mothers involved have children that go to our parochial school.  We are continuing to read Kimberly Hahn’s book entitled Graced & Gifted: Biblical Wisdom for the Homemaker’s Heart.  A great discussion revolved around the following statement “Lesser priorities need a place in your Plan of Life. If you do not plan for them, they will dominate your schedule.  They can become the tyranny of the urgent than the mission of the important.” 

4. After the storm formerly known as Earl, my husband captured about 45 gallons of water in his barrel system for his vegetable garden.  This week, he has started more broccoli and cabbage from seed, since a rabbit eat most of his young seedlings when we were away.  He also started bok choy. Unfortunately, there must standing water in the wooded area behind our property, because the mosquitoes are the worst I have ever seen.  Rick sprayed, but unfortunately, I going to have to get more insectcide.  I hate doing it, but we are all getting eaten alive this week.

5. Does anyone have any good inexpensive vegetarian dish recipes?  How about a bean and rice recipe?  I have decided to go meatless for Friday dinners, and need some inspiration.

6.I actually opened the windows in my house today, and kept them open.  Come on, Fall.  I am so looking forward to some moderate weather! What’s weather like in your neck of the woods?

7. This Quick Takes is hosted by Jennifer at Conversion Diary .

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 12

  1. Tricia says:

    Mary,
    My kids are digging tortillas w/melted cheese in them. Not sure if you can call that dinner?
    Love your quote you gave us. I wrote it down to share at boot camp this morning. There is a dry erase board that we can write inspirational notes, info etc…
    The weather here is just about perfect for those of you who happne to like it cooler. Nights 50’s and days 70’s.
    I had my windows open all day too yesterday!!!!
    Hope you have a fabulous day. I plan on it for sure!!!!!
    your friend,
    Tricia

  2. Thanks Tricia, I hope you had fun day at boot camp and with the boys!

  3. stephanie says:

    Sometimes when I am low on time and money, I jut make white rice and mix in some beans and add salt and pepper. I was surprised at how much the kids liked it. You can roll it up with a tortilla or just eat it plain. I also like to add a bit of sour cream on top and maybe some cheese and chips. My kids love it plain. I make the rice in the rice cooker and then add the beans to the top to warm for about ten minutes. It is also great to add some left over chicken to the mix on nights when you want some meat. I am trying to keep things simple these days until I get in my groove with the homeschooling stuff. So far go good. Your life and your blog is an inspiration to me. I love you!!!!

  4. Tish says:

    mmm, cookies. Not here. Funny, though, I feel a need to take cookies to the “private duty” lady who stays with my Dad. I think I’m going to buy some at the bakery on my way there. I don’t trust myself around cookies, right now.
    Mosquitos? Ohmygosh, YES, they are awful this year. We are vigilant in keeping any standing water out of our yard (and so are our neighbors), but the mosquitos aren’t deterred. Come on, FALL.
    Here’s a vegetarian recipe that I make a lot during the cold months. (If you want to be strictly vegetarian, just substitute veggie broth for the chicken broth.)

    Tish’s FIVE CAN TACO SOUP

    One can fat free chicken broth [low sodium]
    One can fat free refried beans

    One can corn (rinsed to reduce sodium) [I use equivalent amount of frozen corn]

    One can black beans (drained, then rinsed to reduce sodium)

    One and 1/2 cups, or one half regular jar, salsa [mild, medium, hot–your choice]


    Mix all together and heat until hot. Serve with a dollop of fat free sour cream or guacamole if you want to be fancy.
    Ten (Weight Watcher’s) points for the whole pot, makes five BIG bowls for two points each, and freezes and microwaves like a dream.
    It’s easy to keep ingredients on hand for this wonderful soup and it can be “company ready” in minutes.

  5. Jordana says:

    We eat a lot of Indian foods and soups on Fridays as meatless meals. A couple of years ago for Christmas, my husband gave me a cookbook called Twelve Months of Monastery Soups which has lots of delicious recipes, most of which are meat-free (broth according to all I’ve read is acceptable even on meatless Fridays). We also like vegetarian chili, tuna patties, pasta with pesto, veggie and/or cheese pizzas. Lots of good meatless options out there.

  6. Kay says:

    Here’s a good recipe I made a couple of weeks ago and we loved it. The only thing is, I’d add another can of either black beans or pinto beans to it. One Perfect Bite: Black Bean Burritos
    oneperfectbite.blogspot.com

    Surprisingly, here in southern Arizona we’re in a little cool spell – only reaching the low 80s for the second day in a row. It is nice and cool right now with a crisp, gentle breeze. Loving it!

    Have a great weekend!

  7. Yum! Peanut Blossoms!

    Thanks for stopping by today.

  8. Lauren says:

    Hi! It’s Lauren from the loveliest hour…
    I’m so glad you commented on my still quick takes… I’m still trying to figure out what to write in those! 🙂
    I just love your blog. It is a joy to read through your journey and see the sweet faces of your daughters. I bet they fill you with much joy!
    I have a black bean soup recipe that’s sooooo easy:
    1 can whole black beans
    1 can refried black beans
    1 box chicken broth
    1 can mild ro-tel (unless you like it spicy…)

    You can add in some mexican spices if you want, but the rotel ususlally covers it. Great with some brown rice, a spoon-ful of sour cream and a bit of shredded cheddar.

    I’m going to try that five can taco soup up above… sounds good!

  9. Genny says:

    Those cookies look delicious! And I say come on fall too! :)))

  10. Kathleen says:

    We had a pretty good Tomato & Cheese bake last night. It’s a Penzey’s recipe, so I substituted seasonings pretty liberally:

    http://www.tastebook.com/recipes/1477178-Cheesy-Tomato-Bake

    I’d cut back on the salt, though, and I didn’t care for the crust. If it’s up to me, next time I’d just make biscuit dough and put it on the bottom of the pan; that’s essentially what they’re doing.

  11. Bozena says:

    Love seeing the pics of your girls.
    Happy Fall and happy cooking.

  12. Kim D. says:

    Here are my favorite meatless recipes:
    http://favefamilyrecipes.blogspot.com/search/label/vegetarian
    I love them all!!

    Thanks for the Kimberly Hahn book recommendation; if you haven’t read her homeschooling one, I highly recommend it!

    • Thanks Kim, I checked out your link and it looks like you have many great recipes, thank youf or sharing. I have not heard of Kimberly Hahn’s home schooling book. I will definitely check that out. My husband, a former Baptist, was greatly influenced by the book she wrote with Scott on their conversion story entitled ” Rome, Sweet Home”.

Leave a Reply

