Circle Time

Kim at Love Letter to my Kids asked me for more details on my new schedule, so I thought I would take a part of my day and share it with you.  This is our first week of “real home school” as my five-year old puts it.  “Real” Home School includes circle time, catechism, math, phonics, reading, science history, and phyiscal education.   

From 8:00 to 8:45 am, four days a week , all three of us participate in circle time.  This is a time for both of my girls to sing, to dance, and to learn.  I looked at many ideas and formats, however many seemed to be more work for me than my children.  Then I came upon a book at the library entitled What your Preschooler needs to know by E.D. Hirsch and Linda Bevilacqua.  In it, there is a collection of poems, songs, fingerplay, traditional fairy tales and fables, science, history, and art.  

So there’s our circle time routine: 

  1.  The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag
  2.  Patriotic song, this week, “She’s a Grand Old Flag”
  3. Alleluia Movement Song
  4. Bible story, right now, we are using the Veggie Tales Bible Storybook.
  5. Catechism, Seton Kindergarten for Young Catholics, we are reviewing and explaining traditional prayers this week; Sign of Cross, Glory be, the Lord’s Prayer and the Hail Mary.
  6. Poem or Song with Movement: This week, we are singing “I’m a Little Teapot”, and “I’m a Little Seed”, both with the same tune.
  7. Weather postings with song “Is it raining?” (We review the calendar during the Math lesson).
  8. Story Time:Traditional Fairy Tale or Fable, or Science, or History. Later in the afternoon, we review the story and draw a picture about it.  

After circle time, we have a break.  I exercise on the elliptical, my five-year old watches “Super Why” on PBS Kids, and my three-year old runs around and plays.  We start lessons back at 9:30 am with Math.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Home School. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Circle Time

  1. stephanie says:

    Great! I am sure they will learn a lot of great things! I wish I could sit in. I never was able to get the tea pot song right. :0)

    • Frankly Steph, I did not know all the lyrics to “I’m a Little Teapot” either, the book I referenced entitled “What Your Preschooler needs to know” book helped me out, the song goes like this:

      I’m a little teapot, short and stout.
      This is my handle. This is my spout.
      When I get all steamed up, then shout,
      “Just tip me over and pour me out!”

  2. Tish says:

    I like those Hirsch books. I used his list of classic children’s stories from Cultural Literacy to write a successful grant to buy multiple copies of great editions of those stories for my primary school library. We had 11 kindergartens . . . and the standard single copy of Jan Brett’s beautiful Goldilocks just wasn’t going to suffice!

  3. Kay says:

    Sounds like such fun for you all! I love hearing how people spend their mornings. Yours delights me! I used to substitute a lot in kindergarten and preschool classes and I always enjoyed circle time. Such a fun way to learn…

  4. Sounds like the schedule is going well. I homeschooled my girls for preschool and Kindergarten and fourth grade (Giggles) and first grade for The Chicken (that was the same year that Giggles was in 4th) I really liked it but I really prayed when we moved into our new home (5 years ago) and hubs and I decided to send the girls back to school. They do wonderfully. I hope your homeschool journey goes excellent!

    P.S. Thanks for your comment today.

  5. Freeman Fam says:

    These are great ideas. I have a mix of ages and feel my preschool age ones may be missing out on some of these classic preschool experiences. I love the idea of incorporating more songs and a “circle” time type of activity!

  6. Kim D. says:

    Sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing!
    I’m so impressed that you are making time for exercise–that’s always the part that falls by the wayside for me.

  7. Pingback: The Three Rs | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

