To the Mountain

As many of you know, I have begun to actively pursue prayer on a daily basis in my lifestyle. Today, I woke up before the sun, went outside on a crisp, beautiful morning and mediated for about 20 minutes.  Then I came inside armed with a fresh cup of coffee that my husband made and read the daily readings.  I read the scriptures on-line @ USCCB.  There are the daily readings, usually an old testament or an epistle reading, a psalm, and a gospel reading.  If you click on the video reflection tab, you will also hear a 2-5 minute sermon on the reading by a priest, deacon or lay teacher. 

Today’s sermon was especially significant to me.  The priest spoke to the gospel reading from Luke 6:12-19:

“Jesus departed to the mountain to pray,
and he spent the night in prayer to God.
When day came, he called his disciples to himself,
and from them he chose Twelve, whom he also named Apostles:
Simon, whom he named Peter, and his brother Andrew,
James, John, Philip, Bartholomew,
Matthew, Thomas, James the son of Alphaeus,
Simon who was called a Zealot,
and Judas the son of James,
and Judas Iscariot, who became a traitor.”

The priest focused on how Jesus always when making an important decision in his life, like selecting the Twelve Apostles, first departed from the crowd, and went alone to a quiet place to pray.  This is why I pray, to ask the Holy Spirit for discernment in the areas of my life which are peculiarly challenging.  Just what I needed to hear today.

This post is part of the Moms’ 30-Minute Challenge and is hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To the Mountain

  1. Tish says:

    I love that you’ve successfully carved out a quiet time for yourself. This is something I’m working on now, as my BSF (Bible Study Fellowship) starts next week and I’ll need to find about an hour a day for doing the study in addition to my devotions. “Funny,” isn’t it just how often the message at church (or online!) is exactly what we need to hear. BTW, I hadn’t noticed the new picture of Bumblebee. Very cute–she’s growing.

  2. Kay says:

    I don’t know what I’d do without first checking in with the Lord each morning. He fills my soul, grounds me, and sets me on the right path. I too ask for discernment and wisdom each day. I know that your two precious little girls will reap the benefits of having a mommy who seeks the Lord each morning. That is probably one of the greatest gifts you can give them…

  3. KDL says:

    I so need to do this. It seems like I meet with God “in the moment” mostly these days, and over the last 2.5 years that has been almost the necessary mode as every waking minute seems filled with something else. Still I am feeling the effects of not having that separate, quiet, purposeful time. Here’s hoping with my littles starting preschool on Monday that some sliver of time will be available, and that I won’t fill it with something else!

    • KDL, This is why I do prayer and mediate first thing in the morning because after that the “demand of the urgent” takes over. I will say since I started making the commitment of “first fruits” of prayer, I have feel an improvement change in my overall attitude during the day.

Leave a Reply

