Weekend in Atlanta

For Labor’s Day weekend, we drove to Atlanta, to visit our dear friends who recently moved there.  Our friends were so generous, and so patience with us.  Hosting two middle age parenting novices, a three-year old and a five-year old is not for the faint of heart, but our friends handled it with charm and grace.   It was a very nice trip, I don’t know where to start…  so I will start with the coffee. 

Let me say, my friend, Bozena, makes the best cup of cappuccino, I have EVER had.  Then she pairs in with almond biscotti…it’s like I am in Bella Roma.  As, Tricia said, this coffee is worth the 10 hour drive.  She is absolutely right.   

Her husband also makes a mean sangria, and that along with the unusually cool and breezy evenings made for a relaxing time.  My husband and I have been through a lot of changes, good and bad,  in the past 12 months, and it was so comforting  to be with people who accept you for who you are.  My friend, who also home schooled her girls when they were younger,  was so encouraging, and gave my girls two large gift bags of home schooling materials to bring home.  Their four daughters were wonderful with my girls, many times they gave us a much-needed break so we could rest, relax and catch up with our friends.

On Sunday, they graciously took us as their guests to the Georgia Aquarium, a truly awesome place.  We traveled on the moving walkway as we saw Manta Rays, Whale Sharks, and Giant Grouper on the Ocean Voyager.In the Cold Water Quest gallery,we saw  arctic beluga whales and harbor seals. The African penguin exhibit was a fun interactive exhibit.  We crawled through tunnels and pop-up windows, built into the exhibit, allowing us to see the penguins face-to-face.  At the Georgia Explorer, the kids were able to touch small hammerhead sharks and stingrays. Unfortunately, Bumblebee had a major meltdown, so we were not able to see all of the exhibits, but the sections we did see were great.  If you are ever in Atlanta, I would highly recommend the aquarium.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Home School. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekend in Atlanta

  1. tricia says:

    Mary,
    I’m so glad you had a great weekend with Patrick, Bozena and the girls.
    They truly do have a gift for hosting.
    You guys deserve to be spoiled with coffee, Sangria and the best little babysitters ever!!!!
    So glad you all had a wonderful time.
    That warms my heart.
    You can come visit Wahoo NE any time you want. We have lots of corn and cows here. haha
    Have a great week.
    Tricia

  2. Sharon says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend! My brother-in-law and his family live in Atlanta. We’ve been to the Georgia Aquarium a couple of times. We love it!

  3. Bozena says:

    Glad you had a good time. We enjoyed having you.

  4. Bridget says:

    Love the GA aquarium! Glad you guys had fun!

Leave a Reply

