Good-Bye Summer, Hello Home School

Since July, I have been sitting with my five-year old about an hour or two a day to go over Letters sounds, Phonics, Reading, and Math. Next week, we will be expanding our curriculum to include circle time, Catechism, Science and History.  

As for extra-curriculum activities, she finished her swimming lessons  at least until October.  Rick and I thought it best to  get into our home schooling routine before we layer on another activity.  Plus, after eight weeks of  lessons, I think Ladybug is ready for a break.

However, she decided she would like to join the Daisy’s, the youngest group of the Girl Scouts.   The troop meets at our church every other week so it is not a huge commitment, and I have volunteered to help.  I think it will be good for her to socialize with other little girls her age.  Many of the kids she knows from church or from daycare.

Starting next week, I will be watching my neighbors’ children three days a week before and after school.  This will help give me some extra money and again give the girls some social time with additional playmates.

Today, was the first day back to school for our parish’s elementary school.  Most of our friends send or have sent their children to school there.  Both of my children used to attend the daycare attached to the school so it felt strange not dropping the girls off today.  Instead, we woke up early, reviewed last weeks’ work, and Ladybug completed her phonics, reading,  and  Math.  Then, the three of us  took our neighbors’ children, who do not go back to the public school until next week, on an adventure to the local botanical garden.  When we arrived there, the five of us toured the butterfly house, saw about ten different species of butterflies and learned first-hand about their life cycles.  Then we wander through the play houses of the enchanted forest which depicted traditional fairy tales such as the Three Little Pigs, Little Red Riding Hood, and the Adventures of Alice in Wonderland. We ended up at the childrens’ garden where the kids played in the water fountains and bubblers.

Frankly, I felt a bit guilty because we had a lot of fun today.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Home School. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good-Bye Summer, Hello Home School

  1. Lisa Moeller says:

    I miss our homeschooling days. Enjoy every moment. I know exactly what you mean about feeling guilty for not “working” so hard at learning. Just remember it is a natural life long process to love learning new things. If your children “get” that they will so for a lifetime..
    Love you all bunches,
    Lisa

  2. Amy says:

    Glad you are having fun! Homeschooling is an adventure for sure!

    Amy

  3. Tish says:

    Learning should be fun. Your girls are going to remember this, how enjoyable it was to be with you and have fun and learn new things. Great job. (what Botanical Garden is that?, maybe we’ll try it out when our grandkids come east this fall)

  4. stephanie says:

    Sounds like fun!!!

  5. Kim D. says:

    Don’t feel guilty! Learning *is* fun, and it sounds like you’re surely doing enough with your sweet little student!

Leave a Reply

