7 Quick Takes Friday: Back-to-School

1.  A special thanks to Kyooty who included me for this Back to School tag. I am tagging  all my readers and blogging buddies.  So, if you have a blog, please let me know in the comment section that you are playing so I can read your response.  And if you don’t want to play, no problem!

2. What was your Favorite School Item to buy?

??? For the 12 years,  I went to parochial school and wore uniforms, so I never experienced the joy or drama of back-to-school shopping.  This year, my oldest daughter is entering kindergarten, but I am home schooling her. My good friend just sent us two large boxes of hand-me-down winter girls’ clothes that the Ladybug and Bumblebee had a blast trying on. That is the extent of my back-to-school clothes shopping experience.  Thanks a million Steph!  

3.What was your Favorite Subject in School? 

 By far, English and History.  I love to read and I love to write.  I love stories of old, fiction and non-fiction. Currently, my girls and I are listening to audio books of the Chronicles of Narnia. Ladybug loves the series, she is really into knights, dragons,  swords, and shields now.  Bumblebee loves anything princess. 

4.Did you ride the bus? Ride in the carpool? or Mom/Dad drive you in? 

Actually, I walked or rode my bike to and from school for the most part. My Dad worked and my Mom was in heaven with Jesus by the time I was in 7th grade.  When I was 16, I bought myself an orange 1973 Super Beetle.  I loved that car!

5. Did you have a Sack Lunch or Cafeteria? 

 There was no cafeteria at my grade school or high school, so it was sack lunch or nothing.  We did have a killer Bagel Bakery down the street from my high school.  I still love bagels, but try to stay away from all of those carbs.

6.What is your favorite memory from school days?

 Hanging out with my friends, especially Stephanie.  We were kind of crazy in high school, but we sure had a good time.

7.(Bonus question?) What I didn’t like?

 That everyone went away to college, but I did not.  I ended up joining the Army so I could see the world and get money for college.   I was stationed in Europe for three years and received $36,000 through the G.I. bill and the Army College Fund.  Nine years later, I graduated  cum laude from Fresno State, with a much better grade point average than I had in high school.  Life is a journey, not a race.

This 7 Quick Takes Friday is hosted by Jennifer at the Conversion Diary.  The Back to School tag is hosted Amy at Keeping Up with the Schultz Family and… 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Home School. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday: Back-to-School

  1. stephanie says:

    I just have to say that you, Mary Rose, and our friendship was the best part of High School for me. I wouldn’t have made it through without your love and support. You know what I mean. I also must add that we both went off to the Army together even though we were stationed in different places. I am so Blessed to have you as my best and life long friend. I love you!! Oh, and I miss the Orange Beattle! Those were some fun times! Math and History were my favorites and I ate plenty of salt bagels for lunch. I walked to school beginning in the 5th grade. Before that I rode the bus. I liked to walk, even in the rain!

  2. Kyooty says:

    This was fun to read. I find it really gives us all something to get to know better.
    Also another Bloggy idea? A picture of this “range 1973 Super Beetle”. 🙂

    Also I’m so happy you had your Stephanie!!:)
    (waves to Stephanie)

  3. Tish says:

    I loved learning all this about you! The Army, Fresno State, your orange VW, your mom, and those uniforms. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Jodene Vasquez says:

    What fun to read, Mare! Loved the orange Bug…and you turned me on to onions bagels with swiss cheese, mustard and mayo. I still love them. I used to get excited about buying socks before school started….the only thing we had a little control over, I mean, what, 4 colors to choose from? You and Steph had such an amazing relationship, and it was always a pleasure to see your joy bounce off each other! Hi Steph!

Leave a Reply

