CHEAP BUT GOOD

My husband and I were married eight years before we adopted our oldest daughter.  During that time, I, especially, enjoyed learning about wine and how it pairs with food. Of course, I liked to drink it too. For my 35th birthday, we celebrated with a wine tasting party with   ” The Big Six” varieties. For a Christmas gift, Rick once gave me an interesting book on wine entitled Great Wine Made Simple by Andrea Immer .

So, I am excited to say this weekend we are going to a wine and food pairing party.  No, it’s not at a fancy French restaurant nor is it hosted by a sommelier at the trendy wine shop; it is actually a potluck at the Knights of Columbus hall.  The event is being held in honor of the chaplain who is being reassigned. Last fall, we had our first wine and food pairing and the chaplain enjoyed so my husband thought it would be a great way to send him off. 

So, the big question is, what am I going to bring? For the dish, I am bringing French Quarter Cheese. Last fall when we had the pairing, I made this appetizer the chaplain liked it and asked me for the recipe.  It is a sweet and savor dish with a cream cheese base and a praline-style top.   I serve it with the large Wheat Thins. 

For the wine, I am bringing Prosecco (Pro-SECK-oh).  It is a semi-dry sparkling wine from the Veneto Region (Venice) of Italy. The wine shop described it, “as a perfect aperitif, with almond notes echo on a clear finish”. Andrea Immer described this wine as “CHEAP BUT GOOD”.  At this time of my life, I am all into that!

Here’s the recipe for the French Quarter Cheese

Ingredients:

8 oz. package of cream cheese

1/8 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 Tbsp. minced onion

4 Tbsp. butter

¼ cup brown sugar

1 tsp. Worchestershire sauce

½ tsp. prepared mustard

1 cup finely chopped pecans

Directions:

Combine cream cheese, garlic and onion. Shape into a disk, placed serving platter and refrigerate.

Combine remaining ingredients in a saucepan, heating until butter melts. Cover chilled cheese mixture wrap and chill. Serve at room temperature with crackers and sparkling wine, preferably Prosecco.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to CHEAP BUT GOOD

  1. Kyooty says:

    that looks yummy!

  2. Bozena says:

    Have fun !

  3. Tish says:

    Mmm, this sounds wonderful. I love sweet and savory. I think your hubby came up with the perfect farewell fete.

  4. Wendy says:

    Minced onion, meaning dried onion? Or fresh green onions, finely minced? It sounds pretty easy and I really need some new to take to parties and book club. Have you ever made brownies with Reese’s cups? That was my last new thing. Decadent.

Leave a Reply

