Pursuing Prayer

Since I started staying home, my girls have been my #1 focus and frankly, have taken away from my relationship with God.  Many mothers have assured me that the additional time I am spending with my girls is in itself a form of prayer, but I must admit I am selfish. I miss my private prayer time.  I have struggled with this for the past three months not out of a sense of duty, nor I am trying to sound holier than thou, but because I feel like a boat adrift with no sense of direction. I am missing the discernment and peace of mind that comes with contemplative prayer.  When I worked, frequently I would sneak out to my car to pray during my lunch break.  It was a huge stress reliever for me.  It also helped me put things in perspective and focus on what was truly important in my life. 

I do pray with my children, with my husband, and with the community of our church, and I am not trying to take away from the importance of these prayers.  However, my soul is searching for something more.  Saint Teresa of Avila called contemplative prayer “nothing less than a close sharing between friends”. This saying makes sense to me, because I now understand what I have been missing. I miss the quiet time that I spend listening to my friend, Jesus.

So, what do I do?  I have decided to try two different approaches for my day.  First, I am going to wake up one hour earlier than I do now, while my family is still asleep.  This will give me time to mediate as well as read the scriptures following the liturgical calendar. I am also going to instill afternoon quiet time.  Bumblebee still takes a nap, but Ladybug does not. This was actually an idea I found in The Well-Trained Mind A guide to Classical Education at Home by Susan Wise Bauer and Jessie Wise. They encourage an afternoon break for everyone in the house, for sanity sake.  They also suggest with reserving special toys, books or activities that older children can enjoy in their rooms.

So, this is my plan.  This morning, I woke up early and prayed.  This afternoon, I placed my oldest child in the guest room with her favorite books, blanket, and her beloved Baby Mei Mei.   She complained at first, but now she is quiet. We shall see how the week unfolds…

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith, Family, Home School. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pursuing Prayer

  1. Leslie says:

    Hi, I enjoy your posts. I’ve a friend about your age who has adopted 2 children from China, a girl,7 and a boy almost 1, the two of you are comrades.
    This blog, a farming family, parents and six home schooled children has been an inspiration to me. My five are all grown, just one left flapping her wings to fly off. How I wish I would have used some of her ideas while raising my brood.
    A Holy Experience is the blog name, these posts especially good on family and daily prayer: A Place for Everything, September 12, 2008; A Mother’s Work, December 10, 2008 and How to build a house of prayer, September 2, 2009. Other posts dealing with homeschooling and marriage are inspiring. Ann Voskamp writes poetry in every line. I hope you’ll be able to peruse her blog, many nuggets are waiting to be found.
    Leslie

  2. tricia says:

    Hey Miss Mary!
    Good for you for getting up early.
    I get up at 4:00am every day except Sunday. 4-5am is coffee and reflection when contemplation is best. I soooooo love morning.
    5-6 is boot camp. 6-7 is ME TIME!
    After that it’s a circus. Enter my wild little boys!!!!
    Tricia

    • 4:00 am? Boot camp? Tricia, no one compares to you, marathon woman!
      My alarm is ready and set for 5:30 am.
      I am riding my “Craigs List special” eliptical 45 minutes a day while the girls watch PBS. Cannot wait until the temperature drops and I can start running outside again!

  3. Bridget says:

    I have tried a hundred times over to get up earlier than everyone. When I actually do it, I really enjoy it. Usually? My desire to sleep wins though.

    But when we’re all home, the “big kids” have quiet time alone in their rooms while the baby sleeps. There are some days that I wouldn’t be able to make it through with out that little break.

    Good luck finding balance.

  4. tricia says:

    Mary,
    I think once you get into a routine of just doing something it becomes much easier.
    It may take about a week or two but you will get use to getting up early.
    I look forward to my early mornings. It also helps that I meet up with about 40 other crazy ladies who do the same thing. We have an awesome boot camp/runners here in town. Lots and lots of energy fills the early morning brisk air. It keeps me going all day long.
    Tricia

  5. Kyooty says:

    I love sleep too much 🙂

  6. Leslie says:

    We had quiet time, for all ages for a couple hours after lunch, the older kids seemed to look forward to time to read and not be bothered by younger ones or me. Getting up early never worked I’m a night owl.

  7. Sharon says:

    For a while when my kids were little I used to get up early and pray, too. Lately I’ve been trying to get back into that habit, but it’s very inconsistent. This morning I thought I’d get up early to pray AND exercise; I pushed snooze a couple of times, put on my exercise clothes…decided I wanted some coffee…and here I am. I’m getting up from here in a bout two seconds, though! 😀

  8. Bozena says:

    Can’t get up before everyone. Before I open my eyes my youngest one is in my bed. I like staying late. I pray whenever I can and excersize after dropping kids at school with my 4years old. She thinks is so much fun to do Billy Blank’s Boot Camp with me.

  9. Tish says:

    I think you’ll love following through on your plans. I have had times in my life when I got up 45 minutes earlier than everybody else just to get some time for myself. Sometimes that was devotion time, but usually it was exercise time (as I couldn’t get away from the house to run or bike when I was home alone with the kids). I am a firm proponent of nap time for all little kids, though. Mine took afternoon naps until they were 5 (and went to school). When they got so they didn’t need to sleep, they were allowed quiet toys and books, but had to stay on their bed. This worked and my three grown children know how to entertain themselves–a very good habit for everyone to have. I used their nap time (2 hours) to do my quiet time and an additional hour to get things done around the house. My daughter (who home schools) has enforced quiet times for her three also. Not every day, but a few times a week.

  10. Jodene Piedimonte Vasquez says:

    Hi Mare,
    Just wanted to let you know I love your blog. You write so well, which I should have known, because you’ve always been so well spoken. I’m a bit slow, because I didn’t get that YOU wrote the blog, so now I’m playing catch up, and although I’m in a totally different stage with my “boys”, I’m really enjoying it. When they were young, I also got up early. I had a prayer journal, helped with my attention span, but I really felt the difference in my perspective for the day. Staying at home with your kids is a choice you will never regret.

  11. Tracie says:

    I LOVE this idea! I just got back from kids camps and every afternoon for 30 minutes we had “foof” time. What is that you ask? Well, is if “feet off of floor”. We are going to start that at our own home. In a lot of countries, everything closes down during the heat of the afternoon for like 3 or 4 hours. They do that for a reason. Our daughter is 9 and she didn’t really like foof at camp, but we will start it at home and see how things go. She is at the age where she can read her Bible and pray during that time. What a great idea, to train up a child in the way they should go. This could last a life time for her. Thanks Mary!

Leave a Reply

