7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 9

 

This Quick Takes is hosted by Jen at Conversion Diary.

(AKA the “rubber hits the road” version of 7 Quick Takes Friday.) 

1. Sunday, I wrote about balance, and I focused on our Family Mission Statement.  During this week I have been thinking about how I could make that statement a daily reality rather than a set of lofty goals.  When I worked at a certain corporate home office, I wrote annual professional goals that reflected the company’s mission statement.  However, under each goal, I  detailed practical ways to measure it. In fact, I had the list of goals tacked on the wall beside my desk and as I planned out my week, I ensured I was taking steps to achieve each and every goal. Yesterday, I had an epiphany, I realized why I felt so out of balance in my new position of full-time Mom. Our Family Mission Statement was missing tangible, action steps for me.  So, this week, I am asking for a little help from you, my friends. My quick takes will be in form of questions. Think of it as a giant meme, and please answer what you can or feel comfortable answering.  I will use this discussion as a thought starters as I contemplate how I can make our mission statement an active part of my daily life.  Come on, help a rookie out! Thank you and God bless!  

2. Listen to God, and follow the Holy Spirit

How do you pray?  What are the biggest obstacles in your prayer life?  How do you overcome them?

3. Develop and enrich our marriage.

How do you and your spouse connect with each other?  Date night, stay-at-home or on-the-town? Any low-cost ideas?

4. Educate, guide and nurture our children so they can get to heaven.

Do you have a family night at your home?  Do you have one-to-one time with each of your children?  What activities help or helped you connect as a family? 

5. Live simply, so others can simply live.

Do you have a family budget?  How do you keep your grocery bill under control?  How do you give to others, talent, time or treasure?

6. Create a peaceful, relaxing haven at home.

Do you have a place of your own that you can relax in your home? How do you keep clutter at bay? How do you create a relaxing atmosphere at home?  

7. Lead a healthy lifestyle

What is your exercise regime?  How do you find time to exercise?  How do you cook healthy but not blow your budget?  What is your favorite leisure activity?

 

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 9

  1. Kyooty says:

    Let me see,
    praying? I keep it very simple, I do it myself for everyone in the house. LOL my hubbie isn’t “there” so there is some pull and drag to get him to church, so I leave the praying for Sept-May, and when I think of it. I spend a lot of time praying at the keyboard for various blogging families as well. I have no prayer structure.
    The kids go to Sunday school from Sept- Easter, unless they do first communions in May, then it goes a bit longer some years. This is manageable.
    Strengthen my marriage? We email, or message each other on and off. We spend an hour or two a night just talking about our days. Some nights we don’t talk, and sometimes it’s mornings…also I’m the one saying the Hail Mary’s some of those days. Cheap nights? watching DVDs, one night we couldn’t afford a sitter, but we had some drinks in the house, some snacks, and my oldest was using the BIG Stereo in the basement, so we snuck outside into hubbie’s car. It’s his sports/man car, and we listened to music, talked and watched our neighbours drive by. It’s A HOOT! because the kids know we are “home”. 2/3 were sleeping. We eventually came in and use the in house stereo. haha sad but cheap! and no drinking and driving, just drinking and sitting in the car.
    decluttering? I don’t do it well at all. I even belong to a decluttering group and still i’m up to my ears in “stuff” September my youngest will got school and during that first month I hope to get rid of all the toys that are 3yrs and under finally! Need a bed rail? anyone??
    Keeping up exercise wise? I walk 5/7nights a week (depending) with my neighbour, we both get the Mommy time out for that hour, sometimes 1.5hours, and I’m losing weight.
    Relaxing home? uh no 3 boys.. doesn’t happen. Busy busy busy, go go go. 😛

  2. Wendy says:

    Relax Mary. You seem to be doing a great job already. Ever read the book, “The Clean Enough House”? Your girls don’t care if the house is perfect. They care if you are really listening and have time to play with them. I wish I knew this for REAL years ago. I’ve answered the prayer question before. I must say that one on one time with the kids when they get older, is priceless. I have taken little inexpensive trips with each of the 3 boys over the years. As far as exercise goes, I have a chocolate lab with the most expressive pleading eyes and a great friend who want to walk everyday, pretty much no matter what. It’s just routine. There’s really not much choice. Exercise is as necessary to me as eating and sleeping, so I just do it most days. The husband part is harder. We just do the best we can with bits of time here and there. And my husband is very forgiving and I must be too, since we’ve been together for 26 years! Different things work at different times. Love the car idea! We’ve done that, only we parked in a semi-empty lot and behaved like teenagers. Too much info probably!

  3. Geri says:

    LOL Now you have me thinking. Prayer–I go to church often but sadly not every week lately as we have been travelling a lot this summer. I pray as needed during the day-for special help with a project, for someone I see who is in need of prayer, for family members near and far. Exercise-although I want to get used to daily exercise, my daily routine is usually going up and down the stairs. We have a canoe and go out in it sometimes and that is very relaxing and good exercise. Now if I could just get Tim to fix my bicycle and me to get on the treadmill. Time together? Lots of good and some not so good movies on TV this summer and we are working our way through five seasons of a show together. Also the canoe. Quiet time, nature, and most of all we usually don’t answer the phones. When the boys were small, we would put them to bed and sit and talk to just watch TV together. We also spend LOTS of time talking in the car on our various trips. Clutter? You have seen my house. I am still working on that one. With little people in your life, you tend to collect books, toys, movies, pictures, etc. I am still sorting them out and the last one moved out six years ago. I have a hard time letting go of things because they all have a memory. Good quality cheap fun? You have that one down! The Aquarium, Zoo, etc. A day at the park or the beach or a pool or just playing in the mud in the yard. My boys loved bubbles and digging, Legos, and fishing in the backyard. These things will be a little easier in a year or two. You have a wonderful family and you are doing a great job to keep them all healthy and happy. One day at a time and doing the best you can do each day is the way to get through it.

  4. Bozena says:

    Wow Mary, You are a trooper already!
    Prayer, first thing in the morning. I say a quick prayer before getting out of bed. Then I pray with kids in the car driving to school. I pray during the day for people I think need some help and finish my day praying as a family.
    Connecting with my half. We talk every evening about our day. We ask each other questions. Once or twice a month we rent a movie,or go out without the kids. Recently we set up one evening a week to play cards,talk,share a drink or desert. Often if we are very busy we try to work in the same room. Just being close to each other.
    Educating,nurtering and guiding kids. Kids learn by a good exemple so we try to be ones for them/not always easy/.
    We talk to them often,we ask questions. There are some boundries in our house and rules. We try to give them undivaded attention by taking them individually out/walk,ice cream, shopping…/. On their birthdays I cook a special meal chosen by b-day girl/we started this this year/.
    Budget and sharing
    We do live on the budget. I simply watch carefully what I spend, and still have a lot to learn but I’m getting there.
    We give %10 of our income away. We chose few charities and organizations that we like, we support church,school, etc.. I help at school as much I can.
    We try to teach my kids compation for others.
    Relaxing??? What is that. LOL! 🙂 I don’t know how to do that.
    I do cook healthy and we don’t have many sweets at home. I love ecxercising. Just discovered Billy Blanks Boot Camp video. LOVE it!

  5. Becky D. says:

    I was trying to wait and make a well composed reply but decided to write a quick one instead. I struggle in many of the same areas you do. Prayer sneak some in when you can, I frequently pray while watching my 3 yr old play in the bath. Just don’t try to read hardcover books she soaked my Pope Benedict’s Jesus of Nazareth. Exercise I was walking regularly with my 20 yr old daughter this summer while my husband watched the younger ones. We got a Wii fit last winter and that was good to use during our too cold to be outside weather. Many Y’s offer childcare while you exercise I might try that too. Budget I like Mary Hunt and Phil Lenahan’s (Catholic) approachs. Many swear by Dave Ramsey but I didn’t like him as well. The best thing for groceries is to set a reasonable amount and take only cash to the store. I found Mary Ostyn’s Feed A Family for $75 (www.owlhaven.net) helpful for tips, recipes, etc. Our budget is not anywhere that low but it’s still a budget amount. Also I found it’s okay to get a little help. When we adopted our 3 yr old foster daughter last year I realized I needed some outside help even as a stay at home mom. It’s worth every penny for a few mornings a month when I can go to adoration or lunch with my husband or get my hair cut etc. We now have 2 more foster children and I can’t do it all without help. Besides my two older daughters we don’t have extended family etc in the area or friends that can easily help so hiring a helper really well helped.

  6. Becky D. says:

    I forgot. Cheap dates we watch netflix especially old series, british shows, and classic movies after the kids are in bed. Also we splurged and did an overnight at a B and B this summer. Other than that we do the regular dinner/lunch movie out occasionally. In the past we did walks together but that hasn’t worked schedule wise lately.

  7. Pingback: A New Year, a new me? | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

