For A Moment

Today, after swimming lessons and an early lunch, the girls and I headed to the local indoor Mc Donald’s playground for some 49 cent ice cream cones and a chance to escape the 98 degree weather.  As I watched them play with each other the following song came on the radio. In an instant, I was fighting back tears as I watch my little brunette and blonde giggle and chase each other. Time is so fleeting; they are growing up so fast.  This song captures why I am home with my children.  This time will never come again…

100 years by Five For Fighting

Here are the lyrics:

I’m fifteen for a moment

Caught in between ten and twenty

And I’m just dreaming

Counting the ways to where you are

I’m twenty-two for a moment

And she feels better than ever

And we’re on fire

Making our way back from my house

Fifteen…. There’s still time for you

Time to buy and time to lose

Fifteen…. There’s never a wish better than this

When you only got a hundred years to live

I’m thirty-three for a moment

Still the man, but you see, I’m a they

A kid on the way, babe

A family on my mind

I’m forty-five for a moment

The sea is high

And I’m heading into a crisis

Chasing the years of my life

Fifteen…. There’s still time for you

Time to buy and time to lose yourself

Within a morning star

Fifteen…. I’m all right with you

Fifteen…. There’s never a wish better than this

When you only got a hundred years to live

Half time goes by

Suddenly you’re wise

Another blink of an eye

Sixty-seven is gone

The sun is getting high

We’re moving on…

I’m ninety-nine for a moment

And time for just another moment

And I’m just dreaming

Counting the ways to where you are

Fifteen…. There’s still time for you

Twenty-two…. I feel her too

Thirty-three…. You’re on your way

Every day’s a new day

Fifteen…. There’s never a wish better than this

When you only got a hundred years to live

This post is part of Moms’  30 Minute Blog Challenge hosted by Jamie at Steady Mom.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For A Moment

  1. queenofhaddock says:

    I love that song…

  2. Kyooty says:

    I didn’t see the video before today, I hear it playing on the radio sometimes but didn’t really pay attention until now. True! so true

Leave a Reply

