Got Balance?

I recently read this article regarding balance by Carmen at Scrutiny by the Masses. Boy, oh boy, it was just what I needed to read.  Even with my recent lifestyle change, of quitting my job and becoming a full-time Mom,  I still am struggling with balance.

In theory, I have a clear direction of what should take priority in my life, and that is in our Family Mission statement.  In practice, my daily life does not always have that clear direction.  One thing I need to focus on is getting a good night’s sleep.  This weekend I did just that.  Even though, my oldest daughter had major meltdown at the beach due to a jellyfish sting, and I had unexpected dinner guests, I kept my cool and had a relaxing weekend. 

Another thing, I need to change my atttitude. I have a bad habit when I get overwhelmed of playing the martyr card.  But now more than ever, I am in control of my life, my life is not in control of me.  I am queen, not the serf in my castle.  I am responsible for the happiness in my life, and if something is not working, I need to change it.  I need to ask for help, and graciously take it even though the other person may not complete the job to my expectations.  I need to not allow my mood or hormones dictate my actions.  I have choices, and I need to make the right ones for myself and my family. I need to write down all the “stuff” that is in my head, and then prioritize it based on the following questions:   Is it part of our Family Mission Statement? Will it benefit me or my family? Can it wait? Is it really necessary?

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Got Balance?

  1. Kyooty says:

    Be you, because no one else can 🙂

  2. Bozena says:

    Love your atitude,Mary. Way to go!

  3. Tish says:

    Great post, Mary. I like your short litany of questions in the last paragraph. I have similar priorities in decision-making, but sometimes I forget about my priorities and get caught up in the “tyranny of the urgent.”

  4. stephanie says:

    Sounds like you should write all of these thoughts and emotions down and make a book. I am sure many moms, including myself, would benefit from your thoughts and how you deal with the challenges of motherhood!

  5. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 9 | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

