7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 8

 

This Quick Takes is hosted by Betty Beguiles this week.

1. This is volume 8 of my Quick Takes.  Both of my daughters’ birthdays are on the 8th of the month, one in April, one in August.  When we were in China we were family #8 in our travel group, and in the Chinese culture the # 8 is considered lucky similar to #7 in ours.  

2. This past Sunday, Bumblebee turned three and her request, we celebrated with a Purple Princess Pizza Party.  I chickened out on making my pizza dough, however a friend of my husband clued us into a special at the neighborhood pizzeria and we able to order 7 pizzas for $42.  All the preparations went well, except for the cake…

3. Let me first say, I am no baker…so Saturday afternoon, Rick took the girls to the park so I could decorate the cake with no interruptions. A friend of mine lend me a Wilton cake castle kit complete with turrets and cones.  I baked and frosted the multi-tiered, with no problem.  I placed the turrets and other decorations according to the instructions.  I then used the special decorative icing to finish the project.  It was not perfect, but for my skill level, I was proud of the results. Then, about one hour later, one of the turrets came down taking the top layer of the cake with it.  By the time my husband got home with the girls, I was in tears.  So, I started all over again, with a simpler model.  Here are the results:

Bumblebee loved it, especially the color.  Sometimes, less in more.

4. I hate to sound negative, but for the past three weeks, I have been feeling absolutely miserable.   I have been suffering for migraines and hot flashes that have robbed my body and mind of what I need the most, a good nights’ sleep.  I feel like a volcanic mess of hormones. At 45,  I am going through menopause.  I do not want to be a wimp, and I do not want to take hormone replacement therapy, but something has got to give.  

5. Due to my lack of sleep, I am missing out on my precious “alone” time in the morning.  I miss looking out my front window with a cup of coffee and my laptop reading the daily scriptures before everyone else wakes up.

6. Off of Craig’s List, my husband purchased two large plastic containers, and now he is collecting rainwater for his garden.  They were $20 a piece, and somehow he is going to  incorporate them into the gutter system.  This should prove interesting…

7. Two more weeks of swimming lessons, and then we start full-time home school for my kindergartener.  Does anyone have any ideas for Circle Time that would engage a five-year old and a three-year old?

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family, Food & Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 8

  1. E says:

    The cake looks lovely! Your girls are such cuties too.

  2. Kyooty says:

    Hormones are not pretty, necessary but not pretty. How does your body react to soy? can you add soy to your morning coffee?

  3. Kyooty says:

    P.S. Your Cake work is lovely. I’m very impressed. For future years? do not forget the power or candy for decorating. hhaha http://kyootycenter.blogspot.com/2005/07/cake-i-know-its-late-pic-but.html <—- example, you can't see the cake pieces all over the place under those candy. LOL Also, that tray? inverted cookie sheet with foil. Taaaa daaaaaaaaa:)

  4. Kerrie says:

    I think the cake is great! Better than what I can make!

  5. Tracie says:

    Yes, your cake is beautiful! Nice job! You are right when you say sometimes less is more. As for the hormone issues, I totally empathize with you. A friend just told me about a product called E-Relief by Dr. Tim Weir. It is supposed to work wonders. I myself have not tried it yet because I just heard about it yesterday. It is only a couple more dollars each month so I may go that route. I am taking bio-identical hormones right now. I only have about a year or less left. Oh I cannot wait. One warning, a lot of the products that you find in stores are estrogen based and can make things worse for you, so be careful what you choose to get. This too shall pass!

  6. Jordana says:

    I think the cake is great. I’m a good cake baker, but a terrible cake decorator.

    This blog has really nice circle time plans. I’m not sure what ages of children she has, but it might help start you off.

    I’m working on my circle time plans right now too. It was a great way to begin the school day.

  7. Carmen says:

    Mary, I would consider myself an experienced baker and cake decorator. I make my kids cakes every birthday. Frank came home with that kit and I made it for Emma last year. It was the BIGGEST pain in the butt kit I’d ever worked with. I think that the turrets are too heavy for the plan. mine dropped apart and I glued it back together a number of times, all the while completely cursing out my husband, who was just trying to do something nice.
    All that to say, I feel your pain.

  8. Tish says:

    That’s a pretty castle cake–I’m sure both girls were thrilled! Little E’s 3rd b-day is coming up. She had Elmo cupcakes her parents made last year. This year she wants . . . .Elmo cupcakes again! For circle time I found repetition and actions songs work well. Something the children can do and contribute to (like If you’re Happy and you Know it . . . and let them choose the activity). Also passing around a shape sorter toy with pieces is good–each one gets to choose a piece, name its shape and put the piece in. It’s also nice to have a theme–maybe apples in Sept, pumpkins in Oct, squirrels in Nov, etc. You can include a fingerplay about the theme object and maybe use a sticker of the theme object to place on a calendar to mark off the days. Oops, too long–I must be missing being a teacher!

Leave a Reply

