90-Day Review

It has been 90 days since I quit my job so I could stay home with my children.  For you who have been following me since the beginning of this journey, you may remember I gave myself a 30 day review.  There are many things I have learned about myself but there are still many things I have yet to learn. 

I have come to realize, I can’t do it all, so it comes back to focusing on our Family Mission Statement.

Listen to God and follow the Holy Spirit

I bookend my day with scripture readings, however I need to make time for reflection, and mediation…this has been a struggle for me since I have been home.  When I worked I used my morning commune and lunch time for this.  I love to get up before the day begins at my house, however many times a week my little early birds beat me.  

Develop and enrich our marriage

My relationship with my husband has improved greatly since I started staying home.  We have more time for each other, and do not feel like ships passing through the night.  We have made a commitment to “at home date night” three days a week. Since we cannot afford a babysitter anymore, we have been trading off child care duties with another couple so we can spend some time out about once a month.

Educate, guide, and nurture our children so they can get into  heaven

My relationship with my daughters has improved vastly in the past 90 days.  This is my favorite part of staying home, spending time with the girls, especially reading to them and teaching them.  Do they drive me crazy?  Absolutely.  Do they wear their old Mom out?  You betcha, but I would not trade this time in my life for the world.  For a great piece on being a stay-at-home Mom, please read this link from Feminity Revisited.

Live simply, so others can simply live

Since our income was slashed by 60%, it is amazing the things that we have let go of that, I do not even miss, airfare vacations, that $ 100 color & cut, $1,400 in childcare per month, the list goes on…

Create a peaceful, relaxing haven at home

I recently read a post by Simple Mom entitled Perfection, the thief of good enough that really sums up what I should be doing in this aspect of my life.  This weekend I focused on weeding the flower beds our front yard.  This small task gave me a huge sense of accomplishment.    

Lead a healthy lifestyle

 To me, this doesn’t just mean exercise, this means time for me to relax, to think, to breathe. I think of this blog and my Facebook account as therapy to me. 

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 90-Day Review

  1. stephanie says:

    I am really glad things are going well. I feel the same way about my life. I love staying home with my kiddos.

  2. Bozena says:

    It has been a pleasure to read your blog ,Mary. You are doing a wonderful job with your life and this blog. I’m always excited to read your new posts.

  3. Carmen says:

    I think you are doing an AMAZING job.

  4. tricia says:

    you go girl!!!!
    I am so proud of you.
    Tricia

Leave a Reply

