Sunday at the Beach

We live in a seaside community where beaches are plentiful,  however my husband does not like the crowds at the resort area so we usually head down by the bay where the locals go to swim and fish. This summer, the temperatures have been so hot, so early  that the bay has warmed up and is full of jelly fish.    

So instead, Sunday morning, my husband and I picked up our girls who were just waking, and still in their jammies, and headed for the beach. No, we are not heathens, we went to the Saturday vigil! We met our good friends early in the morning before the crowds and the heat.  Yesterday, the high for the day was over 100, and that was not counting the humidity.     

It was so relaxing watching the children play, joyfully, with no reservations.  There were no arguments, the ocean was big enough for all to share.  I also loved watching my husband play with the children. Now, that I am staying at home, my husband is playing a less dominant role in the girls’ lives.  When I worked, we split the parenting duties equally. My job schedule and commune was such that I left our house with my youngest daughter no later than  6:45 in the morning.  Rick had the task of  taking our oldest daughter to pre-kindergarten by 7:30 AM.  As awful as that schedule sounds, this commune was a bonding time for my husband and “Ladybug”, they would sing songs, play rhyming games, and generally act silly.  My husband is a funny guy, and “Ladybug” loved that time with Daddy.  

Yesterday felt like a vacation day to me.  We started packing up when the beach was getting crowded.  By then, the sand was so hot on our feet, we had to carry the girls to the car.  We arrived home to take baths, watch Little Mermaid, eat leftover pizza and basically lounge around the rest of the day.  Last night, I even got to watch Masterpiece Mystery and Mad Men, my two favorite shows!  Today, I have a backlog of laundry, but it was all well worth it!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday at the Beach

  1. Tish says:

    What a great Sunday. I’m lucky enough to have a wonderful DH who fully participated in raising our kids, too. If I was home with them all day, he would take on bath, story and bedtime. When we both worked all day, he did equal shares of housework so that we could both have time to spend with the children. He changed his share of dirty diapers, too. I’d say we’re both blessed.

  2. Bozena says:

    Sounds like a perfect day to me. When we all spend Sundays together I always hate Mondays. It feels very “empty” to me.

  3. Nancy says:

    Love that! Brought back memories of our beach Sunday’s. We used to end our trip by purchasing seafood at a local seafood shop and eating it when we got home.

    Sunday’s are our “family days.” It’s the day where we would all spend together, either fishing, kite flying, or whatever. I would do NO housework. In the winter we would come home from church, make a fire in the fireplace, and watch movies. I would cook a real good Sunday dinner, something special I would not cook during the week. If I had time I would make rolls and/or a special dessert.

  4. marriem b says:

    I agree with Nancy..

Leave a Reply

