Be it ever so humble….

there’s no place like home…

Let me first say, we had a great trip to Florida.  Our friends were so gracious, so generous, so welcoming and so patience with us.  Hosting two middle age parenting novices, a two-year old and a five-year old is not for the faint of heart, but our friends handled it with charm and grace.   My husband and I have been through a lot of changes, good and bad,  in the past 12 months, it was so comforting  to be with people who accept you for who you are, warts and all.  I should have asked the wife about all of her home schooling experience, instead I vented about the overwhelming feeling I have now about this new phase in my life.  She was so encouraging, and gave me great advice and materials to bring home with me.  Their teen-age children were wonderful with the girls, many times they gave us a much-needed break so we could rest, relax and catch up with our friends.

As I stated before, it was wonderful to see my husband with his old friend, including the two of them doing cannon balls in the swimming pool.  We ended our vacation going to Canaveral National Seashore, an absolute beautiful and natural wonderland.  We frolicked in the waves at Playa Linda Beach, and saw what sand dunes really look like full of indigenous palms and vegetation.  We saw four alligators on the wilderness trail and my girls were very excited.  

It was also great to get home.  Today was our first full day home.  I have become quite a homebody, I guess.  With a break from swimming lessons for the next two weeks, we started home schooling again to include phonics, reading, handwriting, and math. The little boy who I watch came over, and he practiced handwriting and phonics with my daughter in the morning.  Then they played with the slip and slide until lunch.  After that all three took a nap, but my oldest couldn’t sleep so we started on her new Math workbook and made good progress.  As I sat with her at her little red table near the window in the playroom, I felt so comfortable teaching her like it was meant to be.  All of the fears just melted away.

Today was also day one of no Pull-ups for my youngest child.  She did really well in the morning, but as the day progressed she had three accidents.    She loves to drink milk, and will drain a cup in less than a minute.  I think I really need to limit her liquid intake later in the day.  Thank you all for your helpful advice and commenting on potty training.  We bought some Princess underpants which are still in the packages.  She really loves them, and I hope she can wear them on her third birthday which is only one month away.

All in all, it was a great day!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be it ever so humble….

  1. Tracie says:

    Mary, that was a beautiful read! Thanks for sharing. I know that you and your husband have been through a lot in the last 12 months. I applaud your willingness! Sounds like you will be a great home schooler! I love it! Your girls are precious! Again, thanks for sharing!

  2. Kyooty says:

    Princess undies,I’m so very jealous, it’s all Cars, Caliou and Tractors, frogs, grasshoppers and spiderman here. Oh and Blues clues. 😛

  3. Jordana says:

    Try setting the timer to remind yourself to take her to the potty frequently. I tend to forget to remind my three year old to go and that’s when he has accidents. He’s willing enough to go, but he doesn’t really care that much, so he is often not self-motivated to stop playing to take himself. Plus, he likes company when he heads potty-wards.

    I’m glad homeschooling is going so well.

    And thanks for the reminder of the slip and slide.

Leave a Reply

