7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 2

7 Quick Takes hosted by Jen at the Conversion Diary.

1. I started this post on Wednesday since we were leaving on Thursday for a family vacation. As I type this post, we are sitting as a family watching “Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang”. The girls are bathed and in their PJs, their father has his head back and is snoring. Like I said before the man can sleep anywhere!

2.My oldest daughter and her little friend have passed their preschool swimming class with flying colors,  Now, they are ready to go for the big kids’ swimming class which starts in two weeks. I am so proud of both of them. They had so much fun!

3. I now have a flip flop tan lines on my feet. I have not had a tan line since I lived on Oahu sixteen years ago.

4. ” I love you, Mommy” is my youngest daughter’s favorite saying right now. I can really see a change in her attitude and confidence level since I have started to stay home. It is like night and day, and all for the good.

5. I stepped on the scale this week, and believe it or not, I am 1.5 pounds closer to my goal weight.  Of course, I will probably gain five pounds on vacation.  Oh well, that’s what vacations are for…. 

6.  Does anyone have any tips on potty training?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  “Bumble Bee” will be three in August, and although she does regularly go to the bathroom, her pull-up is always wet.  I feel she is training me rather than the other way around…

7.  I am trying to add prayer to my midday routine, after the kids go down for naps.  I did it on Tuesday, and it really helped my general attitude for the rest of the day.  Check Jen’s post  at the Conversion Diairies wrote a great post on prayer this week, check it out!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 2

  1. Jordana says:

    I wish I had potty training advice. Some kids are just more resistant than others. My 3 1/2 year old is some what trained, but has accidents all the time. A lot of people suggest switching to cloth underwear or training pants, rather than pull ups, but it does require a certain commitment to dealing with lots of messes for a while (in my case, a looooong while).

    Good luck. I hear none of them finish high school still wetting their pants. 🙂

  2. Kyooty says:

    YAY!!! for vacations, but you can totally stay in your loss zone and be on vacation too. (I think). Potty training? girls? ACK! I don’t know but for my boys the big change was the attitude change, we just got rid of the pull ups all together and said “there you are a big boy, go” 🙂

  3. Becky D. says:

    Potty training-We used candy for rewards, and the biggest thing is ditch the pullups except for absolute needs like long car trips. Try to stay home for a few days/week if possible. Some say going bare helps but we just used regular panties. Carry a change of clothes/small towel with you on errands etc. Also 3 seemed a big shift to success for my now 3 and 3/4 yr old. She’s 95 percent night and day trained now. We had two accidents this week and that’s the first I remember in maybe a month. The only problem we have is our park just has portapotties and she refuses to use those (YUCKY MOMMY THAT’S YUCKY THEY DIDN’T FLUSH)

  4. Dawn says:

    I never did the pull up thing… and as much as I hate to say it I used bribery with my kids… m&ms… during the potty training phases that was the only time m&ms were allowed. If they peed then they got 1 m&m if they did the other then they got 2. I liked the idea of just wearing big girl panties or undies for my son…. I hated the fact that if there was an accident it was more work for me however I noticed that they didnt like to be wet so I did the every hour on the hour they had to sit and try. .. eventually no messes. I did let my kids go pick out their own undies! We made a big deal out going to buy them and when they went to the bathroom.

  5. politicalhousewyf says:

    Princess/Dora/Cars/Bob the Builder undies. “Ok, you’re a big girl/boy now, right?” Old towels to sit on everywhere they go for the first week. A loose attitude about wet butts while outside (all our potty training has been scheduled for warm weather!).

    And the willingness to say, “Ok, we aren’t quite ready for that, yet, apparently. We’ll give the big kid underwear another try in a week or two.”

  6. Stephanie says:

    My advice is this: don’t push it. The more you push, the more they resist. Have your older daughter show her how she does it and leave it alone. It is frustrating, but from my experience, they will not do it until they are ready. I do not like the word “training”. Just show her how it is done, let your older daughter show her and let her do it on her own. She is still quite young, but when she is ready, she will not regress as long as it is her decision. You can always ask her if she would like to wear the “big girl” panties, but please don’t push it otherwise everyone will be frustrated. Good luck. I am glad this part is behind me now. :0)

  7. Kim D. says:

    Love #4!! Hooray!

    Potty training…one of my favorite pieces of advice, which falls into the “don’t stress about it” category, is to view your child’s potty training (as much as possible) in the same way as his learning of any other skill, like learning to walk. Just encourage them and cheer for their small successes and watch with pride as they get a little bit more proficient each day. Now, that is easier said than done of course, but I like the idea, anyway! I’m about to start this w/my #5, and I’ll keep you posted on how it goes! 🙂 I’ve been procrastinating w/him for a while now and I think he is so ready–I need to get going while the weather is still nice!
    This video:
    http://www.amazon.com/Potty-Power-Boys-Girls-various/dp/B002H02V9O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1278385405&sr=8-1

    worked like a charm with my second daughter. She saw it in the van on a trip at age 34 months, and it was like a lightbulb went off in her head: She never used a diaper again after watching it! So perhaps that would work for you too? Good luck!

  8. privitera says:

    Put posters up all around the house -little girls height.Write on them pottie time in pottie or if u have a better phrase use it.Posters on back of chairs cabinet doors headboards bathroom doors hall way walls tv doors front door back door couch windows steering wheel van door lawn mower swing set –catch my drift?

Leave a Reply

