Take a Pause for the Cause

Today, I started the day completely out of sorts, and frankly it’s my own fault.  

I need to learn how to relax and savor the weekends.  Sundays are supposed to be a day of worship and rest.  I have never been any good at the “rest” part of the first day of the week.  For instance, take the Sunday nap.  My husband loves to nap and is very good at it.  It makes no difference what is going on in his life, he can lie down and immediately fall asleep.  It does not matter where he is , he could be lounging in the backyard,  or sitting on the sofa, and, within a minute of two, you can hear him snoring.  I wish I could do that…

For me, I view nap time as an opportunity to get stuff done.  My “TO DO’ list is a mile long, and always seems pressing.  My husband does not understand why I feel that way now that I am staying at home.  “Write it down, and save it for the week ahead”, he says. “For Sunday, you  should slow down, recharge your  battery, and take a pause for the cause”. 

I know he is right, but like a junkie, I cannot help myself. It’s like I am addicted to stress. I wish I could relax more, maybe I drink too much coffee, or I am just naturally wired this way or am I?  Something has “got to give”.

By 7:00 pm last night, , I was exhausted, and irritable. I asked him to give the girls their baths.  Gentleman that he is, he did give them baths, but he also had “I told you so” air about him.  I could not blame him, he was absolutely right. I know if I would have just rested when everyone else did, I would have had the proper energy and attitude to take care of my daughters. 

Do you take naps?  If so, how do you slow down the voices in your head or stop thinking about the long “TO DO” list? 

What do you do to relax on the weekend?

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Take a Pause for the Cause

  1. Kyooty says:

    I don’t take naps at all. I also don’t put a lot of pressure on the to-do lists. If it’s life and death? we do it? school work? do it? keeps us healthy? (eat?baths?etc) we do it. I don’t put a lot of energy into the extras.

  2. Tish says:

    I hate naps. I wake up cranky and I’m not usually cranky. My best way of getting through the tyranny of a bunch of urgent tasks is making a prioritized list and just doing what I can, starting with #1. I have learned to go to bed at a regular time so that I can get 8 hours of sleep, though. Good luck. And I think it’s nice when your nicely rested DH can help out with bath time since you’ve gotten things accomplished while he was napping.

  3. tricia says:

    Mary,
    I use to be a “profesional” nap taker before boys.
    Not so much now.
    I’ll try to nap and then my mind starts to wonder about what I could be doing.
    I need to work on getting more naps. All that “stuff” will still be there when I wake up right?
    Have a great week!
    Your friend,
    Tricia

  4. Dawn says:

    Hey Mary,

    I so enjoy reading your words…I too was a stay at home mom for 8 years… you know my situation. I consider myself to be very organized and I do make time for me… even if its just to watch a favorite show and luckily during the summers just hang out by the pool all day with the kids. My “secret” to my time is having index cards in a recipe card box that has my to do lists for certain days. Ex. Mondays- clean bathrooms, spend extra time with Caleb, Tuesdays-grocery shopping, Wed- wash kitchen floors, spend extra time with Madison, Thurs, Fri, etc… I have taught myself to only do whats on the index cards for those days. The cards would work great if there are certain family outings you would like to do, or a date night with Rick… etc. Whats nice is you can switch off the cards for the next week so you dont do the same things every day of the week. What also helps is having dinner somewhat prepared early in the morning. Prepare your veggie, meat, etc and place them in containers so when its dinner time all you have to do is cook it. I find time to prep this after breakfast or after lunch. Little things here and there take a lot of stress off of me by the end of the day. Sometimes its just really relaxing to sit back and watch your kids…watch them grow, watch them make mistakes and watch them learn from eachother. I am also a big believer in having the kids clean up after themselves…even when my kids were as young as yours they picked up their own toys, made their beds(not to my standard but I learned that it was ok), they put their dirty clothes in the hamper, they helped sort the laundry (great for teaching colors, counting, matching…). Just remember if kids feed off our emotions… they sense when we are sad, hurt, wired, happy… the last being the most important. When we are happy our kids are happy! Your a great mom and are so blessed to be able to stay with your 2 beautiful girls… just relax 🙂

  5. Wendy says:

    Mary, I’m just like you, working or not. BUT I agree with the advice to have a regular bedtime and wake time. I know I need a minimum of 8 good hours, so I go to bed in plenty of time to get that. The voices can be demanding, but I love my weekly “chunk the chores” list. That’s what I call it and it includes all tasks I must complete weekly, along with projects I’d like to get done. I allow myself to do them in any order, except for the very pressing ones. But I digress, it was the voices you needed help with. Sometimes I just talk to God until I fall asleep. By the way, very nice job with the blog.

  6. Thank you all for your words of wisdom and advice. I appreciate your friendship, support and encouragement.

  7. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 2 | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

