An inheritance of virtues

There are many things my children will not experience because I decided to stay home.  Some of these things could be filed in the  “fun” category: For example, in the near future, we will not able to fly out to California, and Colorado to visit relatives , enjoy a family cruise, or spend an entire week at a Disney resort.  Some of these things could be filed in the “education” category. Currently, we had to drastically reduce the amount deposited into the 529K college funds for our girls.  We also decided to have me home school our kindergartener in the fall rather than enroll her in our church’s parochial  school.  And some things could be filed in the “inheritance” category.  We have been greatly curtailed the amount we invest fully in our respective 401K and IRA accounts and our life insurance policies. Sometimes, I worry if the girls will have enough of a safety net.  But then again, I always worry…

The other day I was reading about Saints Basil and Emmelia.  They were the parents to FOUR saints, bishops Basil the Great, Gregory Nyssa, and Peter of Sebaste, and of Saint Macrina, virgin. The parents were exiled, persecuted, and martyred.  According to the USCCB website, these two saints ” bequeathed to their children an inheritance of virtues.”

It got me thinking, am I bequeathing to my children an inheritance of virtues?  Sure, I am staying home now, and spend much more time with my daughters than I ever did before, but am I make to best use of the time, talent, and treasure that God have given me when it comes to my children?

Kids learn by not what you say, but what you do and how you react to the world around you. What am I teaching my girls? Are my actions examples of love and patience?  How about taking time for my relationship to God? Am I teaching my children the values of self-control and discipline?  What about service to others and sacrifice? I can honestly say some days this is not the case. I need to do better…

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An inheritance of virtues

  1. Carolee says:

    I’ve noticed certain “undesireable” behaviors in my daughter – then realized she is mirroring me. For example, we don’t handle techical difficulties too well……

    If my computer isn’t working right, or I’m having a problem with my blog or website, don’t even talk to me. I may answer you, but I’ll forget what you said 2 minutes later. And I’ll PROBABLY snap at you! My daughter is much the same way!

    Not good- something we both need to work on….

    Visiting late from VGNO!

    Have a blessed week!

  2. Bridget says:

    Once again…perfect. An inheritance of virtues. Love that!

  3. Pingback: An Inheritance of Virtues « Gifted through Grace

Leave a Reply

