Now I lay me down to sleep…

Pray the Lord my soul to keep, if I die before I wake, pray the Lord my soul to take”, this is the prayer we have said with our girls at bedtime since they came into our home.  We end with asking God to  bless our family, and friends by name. Included in this blessing, are the birth parents of both of my daughters.  With our youngest child, who was adopted domestically, we say the actual names of the birth parents. 

Last night, my oldest daughter was sitting on my lap, turned to me and said, “Mommy, what are the names of my birth parents?”  My reply to her was, “Honey, we do not know their names.”, and then I started to worry.  To explain, my five-year old, let’s call her Ladybug, was adopted internationally when she was 10 months old from China.  We do not know any other information about her family, only her  orphanage.  I thought this would be an awkward, painful moment for her. But her little face lit up and she said, “Hey Mommy, I got a great idea, let’s make names for them!” And so, we sat there in the dark, in the rocking chair, and brainstormed suitable Chinese names for her birth parents.  She was coming up with silly names, and giggling, even her little sister ,who are sitting up in her crib, was entertained, although I pretty sure she did not understand what was going on.  Ladybug finally decided on two names, Lee Chen for her birth father, and Zoe Wo Chee, for her birth mother.  She thought Zoe Wo Chee was the funniest name she had even heard, and kept on repeating it and laughing.  I said a quiet prayer thanking God for this child, this moment, this night.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Adoption, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now I lay me down to sleep…

  1. Tish says:

    What a lovely scene that was. You probably have it already, but, if not, you might really like this book : The Red Thread, an Adoption Fairy Tale, by Grace Lin. You can find it easily on amazon. I was a children’s librarian and found that it was well loved by adopted children and their parents. The little girl in the story, about 5, was adopted from China.

Leave a Reply

