A Bittersweet Mother’s Day

Tomorrow I will celebrate my first official Mother’s Day with my youngest child.  Last year, although, she lived with us and called me Mommy, she was not legally our child.  So, this year there is much to celebrate.  However, this will be a bittersweet event in our home because is also the first Mother’s Day without my mother-in-law.  

In December of 2009, we lost her to cancer.  My mother-in-law loved babies, and played a significant role in the lives of my children. She was the type of mother who loved and accepted all of her children no matter what mistakes they made.  She was always willing to forgive, even when I could not.  Sometimes, we did not see eye to eye.  However, I think of my husband, and type of person he is: thoughtful, caring, forgiving, and kind, and I thank my mother-in-law.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bittersweet Mother’s Day

  1. Cindy Gorman says:

    Mary, I loved reading your Mother’s Day story. I am sitting here crying. My mother died when I was 16, such a critical time in a young girls life.
    I know some of the struggles you and Rick have overcome the last couple years. Life’s a journey and not always the way we would like it to be. I am very happy for you , now that you are able to stay home and be a full time mother. You and your family are always in my prayers and my heart. God Bless You. Happy Mother’s Day : )

Leave a Reply

