That small, quiet voice

If you would have told me 20 years ago, that at the age of 45, I would be a stay-at-home mother to two pre-school daughters, I would have laughed in your face.  At 25, I was not interested in starting a family.  I was interested in getting ahead.  I was in college, and there was little time for anything else.  My faith and relationship with God took a back seat to my ambition.

About eight years ago, my best friend called me to tell me about a dream.  She was pregnant with her second child at the time.  In the dream, she gave birth to a baby girl and had named her, Mary, my name.  She asked me to be the god mother of this child.  I, of course, accepted, and thanked her.  However, when I got off the phone, I wondered “What am I going to do?”  It had been years since I had been in a Catholic church, and I was a divorcee.  I called my local parish, and thanks to the “Landings” program, and a great IHM sister, I eventually was welcomed back into the full communion with the Church.  Since then, I have grown in my relationship with Jesus . I started listening to “that small, quiet voice” in my head. This voice called me to start the long journey towards motherhood and China.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Adoption, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That small, quiet voice

  1. Andrea says:

    Hi Mary – my name is Andrea and I just found your blog last night through, Steady Mom ( I think?) I just wanted to tell you that not only do I love the physical layout of your blog and the pix of your beautiful daughters, I like your writing style and content. I became a mom through adoption at age 44. My little girl is now in preschool and I am having heart palpitations every Wed and Thurs when I send her off. I am amazed at how fast time has flown! I have found that blogging helps a lot with raising kids, being a stay-at-homer and a “midlife” mom. I’ll visit your blog again soon! Happy Adoption Month!

Leave a Reply

