A Simple Twist of Faith

Friday, was my last day of work in corporate America. I escaped the “working mom hamster wheel” during a time when jobs are scarce and the economy is in the tank. I took a huge risk and I don’t have any idea how things will turn out. I have my foot on the pedal, my arms braced on the wheel and a lump in my throat as I headed quickly and almost blindly towards my goal. My decision to leave my job wasn’t money-based. Our family income will drop by 60%, but I have other plans than making money. I have other values than how to amass more things.

I have been working since I was thirteen.  I grew up going to parochial school, acutely aware how much money my family did not have compared to my class mates.  Early on, I worked cleaning houses and baby-sitting, so I could buy school books, a prom dress, and a car, things many of my friends took for granted. After struggling a few years to put myself through college, I joined the U.S. Army for the G.I. Bill and the Army College Fund.

In 1992, I finally graduated cum laude and like so many women in my generation, started climbing the career ladder. However, China changed everything.  In 2004, after years of infertility, “that small, quiet voice”, lead my husband and me on a journey to parenthood. We began the long arduous process of adopting a baby girl from China. In February 2006, we traveled in Guangzhou, China with nine other families to pick up our daughters.  In April 2010, after 15 months of waiting, we adopted our second daughter through a domestic relative adoption.

Over the past year, I have come to the realization that I have not placed “first things first in my life,” to quote Stephen R. Covey.

My family has taken a distant second place to my career.   This fact really came into focus when I had accomplished over 90% of my professional goals but none of my family goals for 2009. 

 You may say, “Are you crazy, quitting your job in this economy?”  Maybe you are right.  However, I have realized that I could have more money or more time, but not both, so I have chosen “time.”

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change, Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Simple Twist of Faith

  1. Cheryl says:

    You are brave and I wish you well on your journey…..

  2. Tammy Givens says:

    I’m so happy for you! Enjoy every moment, but remember to take time for you.

  3. Liz Cahill says:

    Best of luck on this new direction in your life. I do believe you are doing the right thing. Your little ones will be little only so long. Then, they will start building their own lives outside your influence. I love the idea of the blog.

    Liz

  4. baltimoremom says:

    Wonderful! You made the right move and you are so fortunate to make it before it’s too late. Best wishes!

  5. Kim Werner says:

    I am so happy for you! You are so doing the right thing! Your girls & husband are so lucky to have you there with them. After reading your story, I feel like there may still be some hope for me! 🙂 Please keep the post coming!

  6. CAROL HARTWELL says:

    I give you credit for making this choice. I always wonder what it would be like if I didn’t work and I struggle with this daily. I hope one day to make the same choice as you.

    • Carol, I admit this was a hard decision to make…I worked for a great company, and throughly enjoyed my job. I was confident in it, and felt I had done my best ever professional work there.

      You may be able to juggle more than me, or be able to balance your work and famiy life. However, I did not feel I was doing my best job at motherhood. I felt my girls and husband were getting what was “left over” of me at the end of the day.

  7. I admire your bravery. I have been an at-home mom for 11 years. But I’ve never worked outside the home. I had my first baby at 22 and always wanted to stay with her. I now have 5. It is very tough, hard work. But I couldn’t imagine doing anything else. It doesn’t pay in $$, but it does pay in kisses. And handmade cards. Congratulations and I look forward to reading your journey.
    EE

  8. Laura @ BTB says:

    MB, so glad to see your blog, and so glad to see that you are following your plan. You had illuded to it, in the bookclub, but wow! This is great. I can’t wait to read more.
    I haven’t worked outside home in about 7 years. We also adopted(domestically), and it as I’m sure any life choices that require deliberate action has made us take count of our life goals. I’ve been out of work for sometime, but it has only been in the last couple of years since our last adoption was complete that I actually *rested* in being ‘at home’. The adrenelin of being sure the costs will be covered, the paper work is over. And now I’m in the trenches of why we made the effort in the first place.
    We just made a location move, it’s a ‘deliberate’ move to less pay, more family opportunity, and I hope & pray every day that it was a good decision. I feel confident but share in your angst. May we have peace & press forward to trust in God that He will see us through! as we trust in Him & His purposes.
    Best- & blessings in Him- Laura

    • Laura,
      Thanks for your kind words and support. I believe you do understand what my family is going through, sounds like you have and are walking a similar path. I believe the Holy Spirit, “that small, quiet, voice”, has lead me to this choice, and the book club was one of many “signs” that help me made this decision. .

  9. Mariah says:

    Hi! Just found you from Carmen’s blog. I’ve been a stay at home mom for twenty five years. Never worked, in fact, since the day I became pregnant with our first baby. Actually, I take that back. We were apartment managers in those early days but we lived in the complex so I worked right from our apartment renting out the other units. so it wasn’t really work, as in away from my home and family. I applaud your decision to stay home with your children. “Stuff” is just that….”stuff,” but our children’s hearts and childhoods and lives are infinitely more.

    • Mariah,
      Thanks for your comment. In checking out your blog, I see you are from the Bay area. I grew up on the Monterey Bay, now I live on a the Chesapeake Bay. I am still trying to figure all of this blog stuff, and I really appreciate the encouragement I am receiving from women like you and Carmen.

  10. Kim D. says:

    Hi! Thanks for the note over at my blog!

    Welcome to the world of SaHMs. 🙂 I, too, used to be a “business mommy,” as I tell my kids. After 10 years of life in the corporate wonder-world, I have now been home with my kids for almost 12 years (I am 43). I have 5 kids, ages 11, 10, 7, 5, and 2. I also did a brief stint of working for about a year after #3 was born, when my husband was job-hunting (he subsequently took a job for 50% less $$$ that enabled us to move to a much smaller town and him to stop the almost-constant travel required by his original consulting job). So it’s sort of a similar life-style choice to yours–to simplify and focus on what life is all about. Also, I LOVED 7 Habits also; it changed my little life, once upon a time! 🙂

    I must tell you that it took me a long time to really get adjusted to staying home. A long time. So many little things…time to think clearly, some semblance of control over my time, getting to take a shower by myself, that satisfaction of checking things off my to-do list in some sort of predictable manner…I’m sure these sound familiar! It probably took me a good year to get used to it…and to become a whole new person in the process. In fact, I’m still getting used to it, I think! It is the most wonderful, blessed journey imaginable, and I wish you all the best!

  11. Hi, I’m glad I found your blog – your story is somewhat one of my dreams!

    We’ve been through hell with infertility (http://lowstressweightloss.com/blog/project-if-2/1138) and are now using surrogacy.

    I struggle with my career options constantly, because I know I’d so much rather be raising a family than in the rat race….

    Look forward to following your story!

  12. Pingback: 100th Post | A Simple Twist of Faith

Leave a Reply

