7 Quick Takes Fridays: Christmastide Edition

 I hope you are enjoying the 12 Days of Christmas. Traditionally known as Christmastide, these twelve days start on December 25th and end on the evening of January 5th, Twelfth Night.  The next day celebrates Epiphany, when the Magi visited the baby Jesus.  Growing up, Epiphany marked the end of the Christmas season and the day our tree or other decorations came down. 

Here are some of my 2010 Christmas favorites…

 

1. The snow began to fall on Christmas evening. When I woke up the next day, it was still falling and continued to do so all day.   On Monday, my husband measured 14 inches of snow in our backyard.   My girls absolutely loved it. To me, it was a magical, and beautiful late Christmas gift.

2. The snow forced us to slow down, relax, and stay home. We took a break from home school this week, we slept late, did crafts, wrote thank you notes, and watched old Christmas movies.  Mostly, I puttered, and read, and the girls played. It was down time we all needed. 

3. Speaking of movies, our favorite Christmas movie this year is The Nutcracker. It is the 1994 version with the New York City ballet, and starring Macaulay Culkin as the Nutcracker. My tomboy liked the soldiers, my princess loved the ballerinas.  I will not tell you how many times we watched in over the past week.  Now, they both want to take ballet lessons.

4.My favorite  surprise came on Christmas Eve when we received this beautiful bouquet for our dear friends, Cindy and Kevin. I have been enjoying it all week.

 5. My favorite Christmas album is still by far December by George Winston.  I listened to it several times this week, and really enjoy its simplicity. What is your favorite Christmas album?

6. My favorite Christmas drink is Prosecco, Italy’s sparkling wine.  My husband and I shared a bottle Christmas evening as we watched the snow fall through our picture window.  I think I am going to buy some more tonight for New Year’s Eve…

7. For more Quick Takes, visit Jennifer at the Conversion Diary.

Happy New Year!

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Self, Simplify and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Fridays: Christmastide Edition

  1. tricia says:

    Mary,

    I love watching snow fall. I love that you and Rick watched the snow fall on Christmas night sipping Italian wine. It reminds me of the end of the movie A Christmas Story when the mom and dad are watching the snow come down. I watch that one every year. Can’t let the boys see that one just yet.

    Okay, so if you would send us some snow that would be great!
    We need a little help here.
    I live in the heartland for crying out loud. I need snow.

    Happy New Year.
    your friend,
    Tricia

  2. Kyooty says:

    I want this Christmas to hang on. We’ve been off all work and school for a week now and will for another week. YAY!

  3. Sarah says:

    We, too were blessed by fresh snow on Christmas morning. What a beautiful way to spend Christmas! It sounds as if you had a blessed and relaxing day. Praying for a Happy New Year for you!

  4. Kim D. says:

    This is always my FAVORITE week of the year too–love the downtime while the kids play with all their new loot! Your photo of the cardinal in the snow is amazing. And you have inspired me to break out George Winston’s December–but my good ole favorite Christmas tunes are always Nat King Cole’s Christmas CD (classic!) and anything & everything Amy Grant (great for singing really loud when I’m alone in the car!).
    Happy New Year to you; best wishes for a 2011 that is full of blessings!
    –Kim D.

  5. Bridget says:

    That first picture is just gorgeous. We didn’t get much snow down here, but we got just enough to slow us down and keep us home…which was a nice change.

    Wishing you and yours a happy new year!

  6. Bozena says:

    Happy New Year,Mary , Rick and girls!

  7. Julie says:

    I love the picture of the cardinal in the snow! I also now want to watch The Nutcracker– I love being Catholic. Christmas isn’t over yet, so I feel justified! :) Happy New Year’s Eve, Mary!

  8. Jordana says:

    What a beautiful snow picture. Happy New Year!

  9. Kerrie says:

    Ahh…we had snow on Boxing Day! But sharing the holiday with the falling snow….amazing!

Leave a Reply

