7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 24

For more Quick Takes, please check out Jennifer at the Conversion Diary. 

1. We are having a wonderful Advent.  Thanks to our cool Advent calendar activity set, we are learning every day about the journey of Mary and Joseph from Nazareth and the Wise Men following the Star to Bethlehem. That in conjunction with the Bethlehem Walk we went on last week, my girls are very interested in the Nativity story. Sure, my five-year old is still asking for a scooter, and a Spiderman car, and candy, but she is also asking about Jesus.

2. We have had snow twice this week, and it is beautiful.  Here in Tidewater Virginia, we rarely get snow, and never in December. If this weather would have happened last year, I would be fretting about getting to work, if  the orders would be processed, if daycare would be open… this year, I say “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

3. My little scientists took advantage of the snow, and brought out their magnifying glasses to look at the snowflakes. Did you know there are no two snowflakes alike? Hurrah for home schooling!

4. Here is the song my girls’ Sunday school class will be singing at church this week. Check it out, it is a very special song entitled Happy Birthday Jesus.

5. Our Precor elliptical machine is officially broken. First, my husband tried to fix it himself. Last weekend, my husband and his friend tried to fix it, but without success.  Then he tried to assemble a team of “experts”, an electrical contractor, Radio Snack, and a trip to the automobile electric shop, with no luck. This week he broke down and called Precor. I don’t even want to know how much this will cost, but one thing for sure, I NEED THIS ELLIPTICAL!  

6.Having less money=less Christmas shopping=less stress. What a wonderful Christmas gift.

7.I am looking for a new book to read, do any of you have a suggestion?

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Home School, Money, Simplify and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 24

  1. Sharon says:

    Our preschoolers are singing a song called “Happy Birthday Jesus,” but it’s different from the one you posted. Yours is much better! :)

    I’m reading “Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt” by Anne Rice. It’s a good read, for what it is; it’s told in the point of view of Christ as a young boy.

  2. Sharon O says:

    Oh I love this picture, and the smiling faces and the joy, also the monkey boots are way too cute.
    The book I would suggest is by Ann Voskamp she is a gifted writer it is called A thousand Gifts (I think) go to her blog site… A Holy Experience click into it and sit back and enjoy. She is incredibly gifted. She presses into the spiritual side so much and she is well known and honored in the blog world. You can find it online.
    I am going to purchase it and start it as soon as it arrives.

  3. Kyooty says:

    News from my 5yrold “Mom if a woman has a big belly she’s going to have a baby, like Mary had Jesus… (looks at my belly)”
    “No, no babies here that I know of… (checks calandar closely) don’t get any wild ideas, some people are just fat!” :P

  4. Bozena says:

    Just love your everyday stories,Mary!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I agree heartily with #6. We had a rough Christmas time last year and no spare time to buy presents. It was the best Christmas of my life!

    the BBC list of books. Many of them are cheaper because their copyrights have run out and all of them are good!!

  6. Julie says:

    What kind of book are you looking for? I just finished ‘The Unseriousness of Human Affairs’ by Fr. James Schall, which is really fantastic. ‘Mystery and Manners’ by Flannery O’Connor is a nice set of essays and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ by Evelyn Waugh is beautiful. For your little girls– have you ever read the Martha and George books? Those were my favorite growing up. :)

  7. Kristin says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog. Feel free to follow mine! Lots of great stuff coming soon! Off to read yours now!

Leave a Reply

