7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 21

7 quick takes sm1 7 Quick Takes Friday (vol. 104)Please join Jennifer for more Quick Takes.

1. As I write this, it is Thursday, and still Veterans Day.  I would like to take a moment to pause and recognize the veterans. I would especially like to honor the sacrifice of the brave men and women who are serving in Afghanistan, and Iraq.  With Thanksgiving and Christmas coming, I know this will be a difficult time  and my prayers go out for them and their families. 

2. In two weeks, my husband and I will be hosting Thanksgiving for 20 family members. At our home, it is a casual,easygoing event with lots of kids.  Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday because it’s about gratitude, family, and food.  Amazingly, through the years, it has remained this way. 

3. Last Friday, my Father-in-law gave me my late Mother-in-law’s China set.  Over the weekend, I cleaned it all up, and displayed it our cabinet. On Sunday, we used it when he came over for dinner.  On Wednesday, I used the cups and saucers when a friend came over for coffee.  I am definitely not the “China” type of gal, but for some reason, it gives me a lot of peace having her set, safe and sound, in my home. 

4. I am trying to maintain my early morning prayer routine, however due to the time change, my girls are getting up at the crack of dawn.  I guess I will have to set the alarm even earlier…

5. My husband took the car in for a “recall” repair, on Tuesday morning. Turned out, Toyota had to apply some kind of anti-corrosive coating to the cable that lowers the spare tire. (Say, what?) Anyway, they contacted my husband later in the day to tell him it was ready for pick up. They went on to say that they noticed that the oil and power steering fluids needed changing and asked if would he let them change them for over $200. No to both.

6. I am suffering from one whopper of a sore throat and I hope the girls don’t get sick.  As usual, the upcoming weekend is loaded with stuff to do, including a baby shower.  Sometimes, I think that being a man has its privileges.

7. Ladybug read Madeline to Daddy this evening.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Family, Money and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 21

  1. Bozena says:

    Hope you are feeling better soon,Mary!

  2. Kim D. says:

    Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday too!
    And WOW on Ladybug’s reading progress–homeschooling must be much better than school bc JPD (although doing great, bless his heart) is nowhere near that level yet!
    Hope you’re feeling better soon!
    xoxo

  3. Tracie says:

    Hi Mary! I think that is awesome that you have you mother-in-law’s china AND that you are using it! What a blessing! I know that she would have wanted you to have it and use it! As for the sore throat, try to go get some Tea Tree oil and use it in a gargle/rinse. It will work wonders and quick! Hope you are feeling better soon!

  4. stephanie says:

    Power steering fluid? They were trying to rip you off. You don’t need to change that. You might have to add to it every year or so. Gimme a break! I am glad Rick said NO! I hope you feel better soon!

  5. stephanie says:

    About the sore throat, do you remember that nice broth the Army would put out at night during field problems? I tried something similar here and it made my sore throat feel a lot better. It was really good. Try some chicken soup without all the heavy stuff in it, like some broth with some spices. I know you will know what to put into it to make it taste good! You are good in the kitchen! Take care!

Leave a Reply

