Love is Messy

For my oldest daughter’s first Christmas, my best friend sent her a beautiful Asian baby doll from Corolle.  Ladybug grew to love this 12 inch baby doll we dubbed Mei Mei, which means “little sister” in Mandarin.  To this day, Ladybug, a tomboy who likes Spiderman and Lightening Mc Queen, sleeps with this doll every night.

When we started watching Bumblebee, long before the adoption was a reality, she also fell in love with the well-worn Baby Mei Mei.  Even though there were many babies to choose from in our home, Mei Mei was the source of struggle between the two girls.  This past Christmas, I ordered two dolls for Bumblebee on-line.  One was a blonde haired blue-eyed doll with braids who resembled Bumblebee , and the other was the same Asian baby doll.

To this day, the blue-eyed baby doll remains  in pristine condition in a toy box, whereas the Asian baby doll is in good need of a bath.  

Love is messy.  

This post is part of Moms’ 30 minute challenge hosted by Jamie over at Steady Mom.  Click on over and check her out! 

The  inspiration for this post was found at It Feels Like Chaos‘ s photo of her little girl with her babydoll.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love is Messy

  1. stephanie says:

    How precious!!!!

  2. Kyooty says:

    Love is definitely Messy, one way or another.. :) My son has a comforter for a “blankie”, it was once a twin size comforter that my MIL had put on my Hubbie’s bed. It lives on his bed, but he has to take it on vacations.

  3. Tish says:

    Messy, yes, but beautiful.

  4. Bozena says:

    When my girls were very little we had a horse stuffed animal that Maggie loved. It was well used. Then Gracie was born. As she was growing she started to like the same horse Maggie liked.They started to fight over the it. One day at a garage sale I spotted the same stuffed animal. My heart jumped and I bought the horse. They still like the old one more than the new one , though. Love is messy indeed! :)

  5. Tammy Givens says:

    Great story Mary! Just so you know, Lily will only touch one doll. The one her “China Sister” Ladybug gave her. You know how much they are alike. She actually asked for a doll crib for Christmas this coming year. By the way, seeing Ladybug’s picture of her in front of the firepit made me cry. Bumblebee is getting so tall. Miss you all!

  6. KDL says:

    Visiting via Steady Mom. I love your girls’ nicknames. I have a friend who calls my daughter her little ladybug. Sweet that they love the same dollies.

Leave a Reply

